Suscribe to Weekly RiverCitiesReader.com Updates
* indicates required

View previous campaigns.

Latest Comments

  • GET A GRIP
    Get a grip, I bet the other little girl who...
  • ...
    Love the show - Daniel Mansfield
  • On target
    Everyone I have shared your editorial finds it really close...
  • Retired teacher
    Loved reading how such an outstanding citizen was able to...
  • Re: name correction
    Thank you for bringing the error to our attention, Lorianne,...
What's Happenin': Thursday, May 15, through Wednesday, May 28 PDF Print E-mail
Lifestyle - Noteworthy Events
Written by Mike Schulz   
Tuesday, 13 May 2014 06:00

Laura Jane GraceMusic

Laura Jane Grace

Rock Island Brewing Company

Friday, May 16, 8 p.m.

 

On May 16, the Rock Island Brewing Company presents a special concert with Laura Jane Grace, the lead vocalist of the punk-rock ensemble Against Me! who famously came out as a transgender woman in 2012. But anyone who worried that the band might have consequently softened its touch on the songs for January’s Transgender Dysphoria Blues needn’t fear. “Two Coffins”? “F---mylife666”? “Osama bin Laden as the Crucified Christ”? Sounds pretty damned punk to me.

 
What's Happenin': Thursday, May 1, through Wednesday, May 14 PDF Print E-mail
Lifestyle - Noteworthy Events
Written by Mike Schulz   
Tuesday, 29 April 2014 06:00

The BlastersMusic

The Blasters

Rock Island Brewing Company

Saturday, May 10, 8 p.m.

 

A group of California-based roots and blues rockers will be playing the Rock Island Brewing Company on May 10, and these guys are gonna provide plenty of fun on Saturday night. How do I know? Because the group is The Blasters, and its most recent album is titled Fun on Saturday Night. Trust me, if it was titled Eh, Not the Worst Way to Spend a Saturday, I Guess, I’d let you know.

 
What's Happenin': Thursday, April 17, through Wednesday, April 30 PDF Print E-mail
Lifestyle - Noteworthy Events
Written by Mike Schulz   
Tuesday, 15 April 2014 06:00

Lisa LoebMusic

Lisa Loeb

The Redstone Room

Wednesday, April 23, 7:30 p.m.

 

If you’re familiar with the talents and accomplishments of Grammy-nominated singer/songwriter Lisa Loeb – the pop/rock/folk performer who plays Davenport’s Redstone Room on April 23 – you could easily be fooled into thinking the artist is ... well ... pretty unassailably cool.

 
What's Happenin': Thursday, April 3, through Wednesday, April 16 PDF Print E-mail
Lifestyle - Noteworthy Events
Written by Mike Schulz   
Tuesday, 01 April 2014 06:00

Damon FowlerMusic

Damon Fowler

The Muddy Waters

Sunday, April 6, 6 p.m.

 

Singer/songwriter and blues guitarist Damon Fowler, who plays Bettendorf’s The Muddy Waters on April 6, is a Florida native whose exceptional musicianship has allowed him to share stages with the likes of Jeff Beck, Buddy Guy, Gregg Allman, Jimmy Vaughn, Jimmy Brown, Johnny and Edgar Winter, and Little Feat. But his amassing of national plaudits and citations? A major feat.

 
What's Happenin': Thursday, March 20, through Wednesday, April 2 PDF Print E-mail
Lifestyle - Noteworthy Events
Written by Mike Schulz   
Tuesday, 18 March 2014 06:00

Jen ChapinMusic

An Evening with Jen Chapin

The Redstone Room

Friday, March 28, 7 p.m.

 

The final resident in Quad City Arts’ 2013-14 Visiting Artist series is Jen Chapin, who graduated from Brown University with a degree in international relations; taught full-time in the Brooklyn school system; continues to lead educational workshops for college, community, and church groups; and will educate hundreds of area students before performing her public concert at the Redstone Room on March 28. Oh, and you know the phrase “Those who can’t do, teach”? It’s such a load.

 
<< Start < Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next > End >>

Page 3 of 62

Notable Events 30