Suscribe to Weekly RiverCitiesReader.com Updates
* indicates required

View previous campaigns.

What's Happenin': Thursday, May 29, through Wednesday, June 11 PDF Print E-mail
Lifestyle - Noteworthy Events
Written by Mike Schulz   
Tuesday, 27 May 2014 06:00

High on Fire

Music

High on Fire

Rock Island Brewing Company

Thursday, May 29, 8 p.m.

 

On May 29, the Rock Island Brewing Company hosts an evening with musicians who, according to the UK’s The Guardian, “have been blowing amps and minds for more than a decade.” AllMusic.com declared that their music “rolls like sinister thunder across the landscape.” And SputnikMusic.com called their most recent album “a ferocious and captivating listen that twists and turns through the deepest, darkest depths while pushing forward into new sonic territory.”

Ladies and gentlemen, put your hands together for ... the Osmonds!

Whoops. I mean High on Fire. I keep getting those groups confused.

 
What's Happenin': Thursday, May 15, through Wednesday, May 28 PDF Print E-mail
Lifestyle - Noteworthy Events
Written by Mike Schulz   
Tuesday, 13 May 2014 06:00

Laura Jane GraceMusic

Laura Jane Grace

Rock Island Brewing Company

Friday, May 16, 8 p.m.

 

On May 16, the Rock Island Brewing Company presents a special concert with Laura Jane Grace, the lead vocalist of the punk-rock ensemble Against Me! who famously came out as a transgender woman in 2012. But anyone who worried that the band might have consequently softened its touch on the songs for January’s Transgender Dysphoria Blues needn’t fear. “Two Coffins”? “F---mylife666”? “Osama bin Laden as the Crucified Christ”? Sounds pretty damned punk to me.

 
What's Happenin': Thursday, May 1, through Wednesday, May 14 PDF Print E-mail
Lifestyle - Noteworthy Events
Written by Mike Schulz   
Tuesday, 29 April 2014 06:00

The BlastersMusic

The Blasters

Rock Island Brewing Company

Saturday, May 10, 8 p.m.

 

A group of California-based roots and blues rockers will be playing the Rock Island Brewing Company on May 10, and these guys are gonna provide plenty of fun on Saturday night. How do I know? Because the group is The Blasters, and its most recent album is titled Fun on Saturday Night. Trust me, if it was titled Eh, Not the Worst Way to Spend a Saturday, I Guess, I’d let you know.

 
What's Happenin': Thursday, April 17, through Wednesday, April 30 PDF Print E-mail
Lifestyle - Noteworthy Events
Written by Mike Schulz   
Tuesday, 15 April 2014 06:00

Lisa LoebMusic

Lisa Loeb

The Redstone Room

Wednesday, April 23, 7:30 p.m.

 

If you’re familiar with the talents and accomplishments of Grammy-nominated singer/songwriter Lisa Loeb – the pop/rock/folk performer who plays Davenport’s Redstone Room on April 23 – you could easily be fooled into thinking the artist is ... well ... pretty unassailably cool.

 
What's Happenin': Thursday, April 3, through Wednesday, April 16 PDF Print E-mail
Lifestyle - Noteworthy Events
Written by Mike Schulz   
Tuesday, 01 April 2014 06:00

Damon FowlerMusic

Damon Fowler

The Muddy Waters

Sunday, April 6, 6 p.m.

 

Singer/songwriter and blues guitarist Damon Fowler, who plays Bettendorf’s The Muddy Waters on April 6, is a Florida native whose exceptional musicianship has allowed him to share stages with the likes of Jeff Beck, Buddy Guy, Gregg Allman, Jimmy Vaughn, Jimmy Brown, Johnny and Edgar Winter, and Little Feat. But his amassing of national plaudits and citations? A major feat.

 
<< Start < Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next > End >>

Page 6 of 65

Notable Events 30