Suscribe to Weekly RiverCitiesReader.com Updates
* indicates required

View previous campaigns.

Latest Comments

  • GET A GRIP
    Get a grip, I bet the other little girl who...
  • ...
    Love the show - Daniel Mansfield
  • On target
    Everyone I have shared your editorial finds it really close...
  • Retired teacher
    Loved reading how such an outstanding citizen was able to...
  • Re: name correction
    Thank you for bringing the error to our attention, Lorianne,...
What's Happenin': Thursday, September 5, through Wednesday, September 18 PDF Print E-mail
Lifestyle - Noteworthy Events
Written by Mike Schulz   
Tuesday, 03 September 2013 06:00

Gretchen PetersMusic

Gretchen Peters

The Redstone Room

Friday, September 6, 8 p.m.

 

Singer/songwriter/instrumentalist Gretchen Peters, in describing the origins of her professional success, is quoted as saying, “Until I found the guitar, I was interested in anything expressive. By then words were a friend, but music was a tall dark stranger that I’ve been in love with, or maybe stalking, ever since.”

See? I told my lawyer there was no difference between love and stalking! But did he listen? No-o-o-o ... !

 
What's Happenin': Fall 2013 PDF Print E-mail
Lifestyle - Noteworthy Events
Written by Mike Schulz   
Tuesday, 20 August 2013 06:00

Howie DayMusic

Howie Day

The Redstone Room

Thursday, August 29, 7:30 p.m.

 

An award-winning, gold-certified recording artist will perform from his wide repertoire of originals and covers at the Redstone Room on August 29. That’s a Thursday, but in honor of our area guest, let’s just go ahead and call it Howieday.

 
What's Happenin': Thursday, August 8, through Wednesday, August 21 PDF Print E-mail
Lifestyle - Noteworthy Events
Written by Mike Schulz   
Tuesday, 06 August 2013 06:00

Mark Hummel, “Little Charlie” Baty, and Anson FunderburghMusic

Golden State – Lone Star Revue

The Muddy Waters

Monday, August 12, 7 p.m.

 

 

Blues sensations Mark Hummel, “Little Charlie” Baty, and Anson Funderburgh will bring their Golden State – Lone Star Revue to Bettendorf’s The Muddy Waters on August 12, their touring blues outfit described in press materials as “a cross-country meeting of the minds between California and Texas musicians.” And what musical minds!

 
What's Happenin': Thursday, July 25, through Wednesday, August 7 PDF Print E-mail
Lifestyle - Noteworthy Events
Written by Mike Schulz   
Tuesday, 23 July 2013 06:00

Michelangelo's BacchusTheatre

The Acharnians

Lincoln Park

Saturday, July 27, through Sunday, August 4

 

Hard as it is to believe, summer’s almost over. And I know it’s almost over because it’s already time for Genesius Guild’s annual, end-of-summer slapstick in Rock Island’s Lincoln Park – which, this year, is Guild founder Don Wooten’s take on the Aristophanes comedy The Acharnians.

 
What's Happenin': Thursday, July 11, through Wednesday, July 24 PDF Print E-mail
Lifestyle - Noteworthy Events
Written by Mike Schulz   
Tuesday, 09 July 2013 06:00

Genesius Guild presents CoriolanusTheatre

Coriolanus

Lincoln Park

Saturday, July 13, through Sunday, July 21, 8 p.m.

 

In the Cole Porter stage classic Kiss Me, Kate, a musical largely based on William Shakespeare’s The Taming of the Shrew, a pair of goofy mobsters sing a comedic ditty titled “Brush Up Your Shakespeare.” The song offers a how-to guide on the wooing of women through knowledge of the Bard’s works, and one set of lyrics transpires thusly:

     “If she fights when her clothes you are mussing,

     What are clothes? Much Ado About Nussing.

     If she says your behavior is heinous,

     Kick her right in the Coriolanus.”

Just thought I’d get that gag out of the way early, because it would be impossible to discuss Genesius Guild’s forthcoming production seriously if you spent this whole piece thinking, “Hee hee hee ... anus ... .”

 
<< Start < Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next > End >>

Page 7 of 62

Notable Events 30