Suscribe to Weekly RiverCitiesReader.com Updates
* indicates required

View previous campaigns.

What's Happenin': Thursday, October 30, through Wednesday, November 12 PDF Print E-mail
Lifestyle - Noteworthy Events
Written by Mike Schulz   
Tuesday, 28 October 2014 06:00

Anchee MinLiterature

Anchee Min

St. Ambrose University

Thursday, November 6, 5:30 p.m.

 

For this year’s eighth-annual International Women Authors Event hosted by the Women’s Connection – taking place at St. Ambrose University’s Rogalski Center on November 6 – the guest speaker is award-winning author Anchee Min. And I truly don’t mean to trivialize our area visitor or the speaker’s past in any way, but I think I’ve now found my dream role if anyone ever commits Min’s life story to the screen. I’d be absolutely perfect for the part ... if only I were 10 years older ... and a woman ... and Chinese-American ... and a much, much better writer ... .

 
What's Happenin': Thursday, October 16, through Wednesday, October 29 PDF Print E-mail
Lifestyle - Noteworthy Events
Written by Mike Schulz   
Tuesday, 14 October 2014 06:00

Break of RealityMusic

Break of Reality

St. Ambrose University

Saturday, October 25, 7:30 p.m.

 

Break of Reality, the latest guests in Quad City Arts’ Visiting Artists series, is a cello-rock ensemble whose performers are as versed in the musical languages of Radiohead and Led Zeppelin as they are in that of Johann Sebastian Bach. Yet how many musicians can also boast an equal fluency in the language of Dothraki?

 
What's Happenin': Thursday, October 2, through Wednesday, October 15 PDF Print E-mail
Lifestyle - Noteworthy Events
Written by Mike Schulz   
Tuesday, 30 September 2014 06:00

Grace AskewMusic

Grace Askew

Rozz-Tox

Sunday, October 12, 8 p.m.

 

Webster’s dictionary defines “grace” as “a way of moving that is smooth and attractive.” Webster’s dictionary defines “askew” as “at an angle.” An author who begins an article with “Webster’s dictionary defines,” meanwhile, is defined as “unoriginal” and “desperate,” but that’s neither here nor there.

 
What's Happenin': Thursday, September 18, through Wednesday, October 1 PDF Print E-mail
Lifestyle - Noteworthy Events
Written by Mike Schulz   
Tuesday, 16 September 2014 06:00

Shook TwinsMusic

Shook Twins

The Redstone Room

Wednesday, October 1, 7:30 p.m.

 

Pop culture is filled with sets of identical twins whose warmth and charisma have brought us joy: Susan and Sharon in The Parent Trap; Patty and Cathy in The Patty Duke Show; Fred and George Weasley in the Harry Potters; the sadistic gynecologists in Dead Ringers; those creepy little girls in The Shining ... .

Okay, this intro kind of got away from me.

 
What's Happenin': Fall 2014 PDF Print E-mail
Lifestyle - Noteworthy Events
Written by Mike Schulz   
Tuesday, 02 September 2014 06:00

Cher, October 22Events

i wireless Center

September through November

 

Let’s take a poll: Out of all of the exciting, hotly anticipated events coming to Moline’s i wireless Center this fall, which do you think will give patrons the most bang for their bucks?

 
<< Start < Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next > End >>

Page 2 of 64

Notable Events 30