Suscribe to Weekly RiverCitiesReader.com Updates
* indicates required

View previous campaigns.

Latest Comments

What's Happenin': Fall 2012 PDF Print E-mail
Lifestyle - Noteworthy Events
Written by Mike Schulz   
Tuesday, 28 August 2012 06:00

Posing Beauty in African-American CultureExhibit

Posing Beauty in African-American Culture

Figge Art Museum

Saturday, September 8, through Sunday, November 4

 

According to the famed English poet John Keats, “A thing of beauty is a joy forever.” According to its Web site, the Figge Art Museum’s new exhibit Posing Beauty in African-American Culture runs from September 8 through November 4.

Such a dirty, rotten liar, that Keats.

 
What's Happenin': Thursday, August 16, through Wednesday, August 29 PDF Print E-mail
Lifestyle - Noteworthy Events
Written by Mike Schulz   
Tuesday, 14 August 2012 06:00

Sara King and Kelly Lohrenz in Next to NormalTheatre

Next to Normal

District Theatre

Friday, August 24, through Sunday, September 9

 

Occasionally, I’ll recommend an emotionally wrenching movie or play to friends and family members, and invariably, after they’ve sobbed their way through the entertainment, they’ll hit me with “Why didn’t you tell me I’d need tissues for that thing?!” Well, the District Theatre is opening Next to Normal on August 24, and while I haven’t yet seen this musical on-stage, its Broadway soundtrack is also emotionally wrenching. If you listen to the CD, though, I’m here to tell you that it doesn’t require tissues. It requires a freakin’ squeegee.

 
What's Happenin': Thursday, August 2, through Wednesday, August 15 PDF Print E-mail
Lifestyle - Noteworthy Events
Written by Mike Schulz   
Tuesday, 31 July 2012 06:00

Zac Brown BandMusic

The Zac Brown Band

i wireless Center

Friday, August 3, 7 p.m.

 

The country-music superstars of the Zac Brown Band will play the i wireless center on August 3, and among the group’s output is the 2012 CD You Get What You Give. Considering what the band has been giving over the years, it’s no wonder they’ve been getting so much!

 
What's Happenin': Thursday, July 19, through Wednesday, August 1 PDF Print E-mail
Lifestyle - Noteworthy Events
Written by Mike Schulz   
Tuesday, 17 July 2012 06:00

John FullbrightMusic

John Fullbright

Rozz-Tox

Friday, July 27, 9 p.m.

 

Discussing the widely acclaimed musician who will perform a special concert at Rock Island’s Rozz-Tox on July 27, the legendary singer/songwriter Jimmy Webb is quoted as saying, “I have no doubt that in a very short time, John Fullbright will be a household name in American music.”

I can’t imagine how Webb knew that Fullbright would eventually be highlighted in the Reader’s What’s Happenin’ pages, but let’s get cracking on that household-name thing!

 
What's Happenin': Thursday, July 5, through Wednesday, July 18 PDF Print E-mail
Lifestyle - Noteworthy Events
Written by Mike Schulz   
Tuesday, 03 July 2012 06:00

The Henry Clay PeopleMusic

The Henry Clay People and Futurebirds

Rock Island Brewing Company

Thursday, July 12, 8 p.m.

 

On July 12, the Rock Island Brewing Company will present a special Thursday-night two-fer, with sets by co-headliners The Henry Clay People and Futurebirds. Or, as I like to think of the musical mash-up that’ll result: The Henry Clay Pigeons.

Sorry. Horrible joke. It’s really humid today.

 
<< Start < Prev 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 Next > End >>

Page 11 of 61

Notable Events 30