Suscribe to Weekly RiverCitiesReader.com Updates
* indicates required

View previous campaigns.

What's Happenin': Thursday, October 25, through Wednesday, November 7 PDF Print E-mail
Lifestyle - Noteworthy Events
Written by Mike Schulz   
Tuesday, 23 October 2012 06:00

Del the Funky HomosapienMusic

Del the Funky Homosapien

Rock Island Brewing Company

Friday, October 26, 9 p.m.

 

Fans of funk, rap, and hip hop aren’t going to want to miss the October 26 concert at the Rock Island Brewing Company, considering the venue has booked an evening with the legendary underground artist and hip-hop emcee Del the Funky Homosapien. But there’s actually a sect of people who might be even more jazzed by the arrival of this California-based music sensation: video-game fanatics.

 
What's Happenin': Thursday, October 11, through Wednesday, October 24 PDF Print E-mail
Lifestyle - Noteworthy Events
Written by Mike Schulz   
Tuesday, 09 October 2012 06:00

The Weather StationMusic

The Weather Station

Rozz-Tox

Sunday, October 14, 8 p.m.

 

In acknowledging the talents of Canadian folk singer/songwriter Tamara Lindeman – whose musical outfit The Weather Station plays Rock Island’s Rozz-Tox venue on October 14 – Soundproof Magazine raved, “When you try to describe this woman and the music she makes, words fail.”

Challenge accepted, Soundproof!

 
What's Happenin': Thursday, September 27, through Wednesday, October 10 PDF Print E-mail
Lifestyle - Noteworthy Events
Written by Mike Schulz   
Tuesday, 25 September 2012 06:00

John CommonMusic

John Common

The Redstone Room

Friday, September 28, 8 p.m.

 

The independent pop/folk/rock musician John Common will play the Redstone Room on September 28, and according to his Wikipedia listing, the man was born in Jacksonville, North Carolina, and honed his talents at numerous venues throughout the United States.

According to his biography at JohnCommon.com, however, the singer/songwriter was actually born in a small finishing village in Uoraguwaogo, Portugal, and mastered his craft performing bar mitzvahs in Tel Aviv, Hindu weddings in Calcutta, and “a small punk club in the Netherlands.”

Damn that Wikipedia. Can’t trust it for a second.

 
What's Happenin': Thursday, September 13, through Wednesday, September 26 PDF Print E-mail
Lifestyle - Noteworthy Events
Written by Mike Schulz   
Tuesday, 11 September 2012 06:00

Royal Southern BrotherhoodMusic

Royal Southern Brotherhood

The Redstone Room

Sunday, September 23, 7:30 p.m.

 

On September 23, the Redstone Room will host a concert with Royal Southern Brotherhood, a group whose self-titled debut CD, released this past May, was praised for its “exciting mix of down-home Cajun-creole funky blues and good old Southern rock” by CoolAlbumRevue.com. Which begs the question: If you’re being reviewed on a Web site called CoolAlbumRevue.com, are the specifics of your album’s coolness even necessary?

 
What's Happenin': Fall 2012 PDF Print E-mail
Lifestyle - Noteworthy Events
Written by Mike Schulz   
Tuesday, 28 August 2012 06:00

Posing Beauty in African-American CultureExhibit

Posing Beauty in African-American Culture

Figge Art Museum

Saturday, September 8, through Sunday, November 4

 

According to the famed English poet John Keats, “A thing of beauty is a joy forever.” According to its Web site, the Figge Art Museum’s new exhibit Posing Beauty in African-American Culture runs from September 8 through November 4.

Such a dirty, rotten liar, that Keats.

 
<< Start < Prev 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 Next > End >>

Page 13 of 64

Notable Events 30