Suscribe to Weekly RiverCitiesReader.com Updates
* indicates required

View previous campaigns.

Latest Comments

What's Happenin': Thursday, December 8, through Saturday, December 31 PDF Print E-mail
Lifestyle - Noteworthy Events
Written by Mike Schulz   
Tuesday, 06 December 2011 06:00

Mike GarsonMusic

Mike Garson

First Presbyterian Church of Davenport

Saturday, December 10, 4 p.m.

 

Performing in a December 10 concert at Davenport’s First Presbyterian Church, the latest guest in Quad City Arts’ Visiting Artist Series is acclaimed pianist/composer Mike Garson, and according to his Web-site bio at MikeGarson.com, he’s a musician “to whom the word ‘no’ is quickly transformed into the word ‘now.’” Which is funny, because that’s exactly what happens whenever I say ‘no’ around here ... although it’s always my editor Jeff who transforms it into ‘now.’

 
What's Happenin': Winter 2011-12 PDF Print E-mail
Lifestyle - Noteworthy Events
Written by Mike Schulz   
Tuesday, 22 November 2011 06:00

Eboo PatelLecture

Eboo Patel

Centennial Hall

Thursday, December 1, 10:30

 

Do you ever experience those days where you feel like you’ve done nothing significant with your life? If not, allow me to say (a) congratulations, and (b) you might want to consider attending Augustana College’s December 1 presentation with Eboo Patel. I guarantee, you’ll feel like the rest of us in no time.

 
What's Happenin': Thursday, November 10, through Tuesday, November 22 PDF Print E-mail
Lifestyle - Noteworthy Events
Written by Mike Schulz   
Tuesday, 08 November 2011 06:00
Mark SchultzMusic

Mark Schultz

Augustana College

Saturday, November 19, 7 p.m.

 

The latest in Augustana College’s lineup of visiting artists is a Dove Award-winning musician who will appear in a special concert titled An Intimate Evening with Mark Schultz. I should mention that this event isn’t to be confused with An Intimate Evening with Mike Schulz, which is also great fun, but features a lot more griping about Hollywood reboots and surcharges for 3D glasses.

 
What's Happenin': Thursday, October 27, through Wednesday, November 9 PDF Print E-mail
Lifestyle - Noteworthy Events
Written by Mike Schulz   
Tuesday, 25 October 2011 06:00

DalaMusic

Dala

Galvin Fine Arts Center

Saturday, November 5, 7:30 p.m.

 

The latest presentation in the Galvin Fine Arts Center’s Performing Arts Series will take place on November 5, and according to the L.A. Daily News, the act booked for the St. Ambrose University venue “can work up some powerful emotions, make a religion out of lonely introspection, and even crack the occasional Canada joke.” And no, it’s not President Obama.

 
What's Happenin': Tuesday, October 11, through Wednesday, October 26 PDF Print E-mail
Lifestyle - Noteworthy Events
Written by Mike Schulz   
Tuesday, 11 October 2011 06:00
Chris GreeneMusic

The Chris Greene Quartet

The Redstone Room

Sunday, October 16

 

For the latest presentation in Polyrhythms’ Third Sunday Jazz Series, the Redstone Room will host an October 16 workshop and concert with the lauded Chicago musicians of the Chris Greene Quartet, whose saxophone-playing front man was described by DownBeat magazine as “a stupid-funky tenor and soprano player.” Ironically, that’s exactly how people described me in my youth. Except it was in regard to my involvement in choir. And they didn’t say “player.” Or “funky.” I don’t really want to talk about it.

 
<< Start < Prev 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 Next > End >>

Page 15 of 61

Notable Events 30