Suscribe to Weekly RiverCitiesReader.com Updates
* indicates required

View previous campaigns.

Latest Comments

What's Happenin': Tuesday, March 29, through Wednesday, April 13 PDF Print E-mail
Lifestyle - Noteworthy Events
Written by Mike Schulz   
Tuesday, 29 March 2011 06:00

The Carolina Chocolate DropsMUSIC

The Carolina Chocolate Drops

Englert Theatre

Thursday, April 7, 7:30 p.m.

 

On April 7, Iowa City’s Englert Theatre will play host to the latest guests in Hancher Auditorium’s 2010-11 Visiting Artists series, The Carolina Chocolate Drops.

Mmmm ... Carolina Chocolate Drops ... .

My Homer Simpson impression doesn’t play so well in print, but trust me, it’s awesome.

 
What's Happenin': Tuesday, March 15, through Wednesday, March 30 PDF Print E-mail
Lifestyle - Noteworthy Events
Written by Mike Schulz   
Tuesday, 15 March 2011 06:00

Celebrating Ideas: Bridging Communities with Augustana’s Liberal Arts through the AGESEXHIBIT 

Celebrating Ideas: Bridging Communities with Augustana’s Liberal Arts through the AGES

Figge Art Museum

Saturday, March 19, through Sunday, May 29

 

The Figge Art Museum’s latest exhibition is Celebrating Ideas: Bridging Communities with Augustana’s Liberal Arts Through the AGES, and the accompanying image is of one of the displayed ceramic pieces, created circa 340-330 B.C.E. Its ascribed title? Red-Figure Dish with Running Female Figure with Wreath & Ivy-Garnished Phiale.

Man, these highfalutin B.C.E. artists with their cryptic titles ... .

 
What's Happenin': Spring, 2011 PDF Print E-mail
Lifestyle - Noteworthy Events
Written by Mike Schulz   
Tuesday, 01 March 2011 06:00

Here you’ll find different ways to explore the River Cities’ Reader Spring Guide, which features more than 1,500 events over the next three months. Below are event highlights for the next two weeks and the entire spring, drawn from our What’s Happenin’ pages and calendar. The Scribd version of the issue allows you peruse it online. And you can always keep up-to-date with what’s going on in the Quad Cities area with our comprehensive online calendar. Of course, you can also pick up the River Cities’ Reader at more than 700 locations throughout the Quad Cities.

 
What's Happenin': Tuesday, February 15, through Wednesday, March 2 PDF Print E-mail
Lifestyle - Noteworthy Events
Written by Mike Schulz   
Tuesday, 15 February 2011 06:00

Cuban EssenceMusic

Cuban Essence

Augustana College

Saturday, February 19, 7 p.m.

 

The latest performers in Quad City Arts’ Visiting Artists Series are the members of the Latin-American music ensemble Cuban Essence, and as I write this – two days after the crazy blizzard of ’11 – I’m looking out the window at a snowdrift that’s literally twice as tall as the car parked beside it. Any chance we could get a little Cuban Essence in our temperatures right now?

 
What's Happenin': Tuesday, February 1, through Thursday, February 17 PDF Print E-mail
Lifestyle - Noteworthy Events
Written by Mike Schulz   
Tuesday, 01 February 2011 06:00

Stacy Herrick and Dana Skiles in IndependenceTheatre

Independence

Richmond Hill Barn Theatre

Thursday, February 10, through Sunday, February 20

 

Steve Schmidt, a well-known Republican campaign strategist, was once quoted as saying, “The price for independence is often isolation and solitude.” Silly man. The price for Independence is actually only 10 bucks.

Uh ... he was talking about the Richmond Hill Barn Theatre’s new play, right?

 
<< Start < Prev 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 Next > End >>

Page 17 of 60

Notable Events 30