Suscribe to Weekly RiverCitiesReader.com Updates
* indicates required

View previous campaigns.

Latest Comments

What's Happenin': Tuesday, June 7, through Wednesday, June 22 PDF Print E-mail
Lifestyle - Noteworthy Events
Written by Mike Schulz   
Tuesday, 07 June 2011 06:00

Yo La TengoMusic

Yo La Tengo

Englert Theatre

Tuesday, June 21, 8 p.m.

 

The experimental alternative rockers of Yo La Tengo perform a concert at Iowa City’s Englert Theatre on June 21, and the All Music Guide has described the group as “the quintessential critics’ band.” I’m assuming that’s all the motivation you need to purchase tickets, as personal experience has proven that the public always agrees with the critics.

Whenever you’re done laughing, I’ll continue.

 
What's Happenin': Summer 2011 PDF Print E-mail
Lifestyle - Noteworthy Events
Written by Mike Schulz   
Tuesday, 24 May 2011 06:00

Our Summer Guide – featuring more than 1,800 events – can be found on newsstands and also browsed here. Below are Mike Schulz’s highlights for the next two weeks and the whole summer.

River Cities' Reader - Issue 779 - May 26, 2011

Becky McCorkle and Don Hazen in Don't Talk to the ActorsTheatre

Don’t Talk to the Actors

Richmond Hill Barn Theatre

Thursday, June 2, through Sunday, June 12

 

Throughout the history of American theatre, there have been a number of directors famed for their presentations of numerous works by one particular author: Mike Nichols directing Neil Simon plays, Elia Kazan directing Tennessee Williams plays, Lloyd Richards directing August Wilson plays, Susan Simosky directing Tom Dudzick plays ... .

 
What's Happenin': Tuesday, May 10, through Wednesday, May 25 PDF Print E-mail
Lifestyle - Noteworthy Events
Written by Mike Schulz   
Tuesday, 10 May 2011 06:00

Circa: 61 Circus Acts in 60 MinutesEvent

Circa: 61 Circus Acts in 60 Minutes

Englert Theatre

Saturday, May 14, 2 p.m.

 

Appearing as the final guests in Hancher Auditorium’s 2010-11 Visiting Artists series, the Australian troupe Circa brings its lauded 61 Circus Acts in 60 Minutes to Iowa City’s Englert Theatre on May 14, demonstrating such feats as knife-throwing, flying without a net, and what’s called “the unicycle of death.” That last one certainly sounds like something to see, as I wasn’t aware there were any other kinds of unicycles.

 
What's Happenin': Tuesday, April 26, through Wednesday, May 11 PDF Print E-mail
Lifestyle - Noteworthy Events
Written by Mike Schulz   
Tuesday, 26 April 2011 06:00

Janiva MagnessMusic

Janiva Magness

The Redstone Room

Thursday, April 28, 8 p.m.

 

Acclaimed blues vocalist Janiva Magness performs at Davenport’s Redstone Room on April 28, and included among the performer’s many song titles are “Don’t Do It,” “That’s No Way to Get Along,” “Eat the Lunch You Brought,” and “I Give Up.” All things that our publisher, Todd, tells us at weekly staff meetings, but the words sound much nicer when Magness sings them.

 
What's Happenin': Tuesday, April 12, through Wednesday, April 27 PDF Print E-mail
Lifestyle - Noteworthy Events
Written by Mike Schulz   
Tuesday, 12 April 2011 06:00

The New PornographersMUSIC

The New Pornographers & The Walkmen

Iowa Memorial Union

Wednesday, April 27, 8 p.m.

 

Not to get all bitter-middle-aged-man on you here, but university students today have it so sweet. New fields of study ... new recreation facilities ... New Pornographers ... .

 
<< Start < Prev 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 Next > End >>

Page 18 of 62

Notable Events 30