Suscribe to Weekly RiverCitiesReader.com Updates
* indicates required

View previous campaigns.

What's Happenin': Thursday, August 2, through Wednesday, August 15 PDF Print E-mail
Lifestyle - Noteworthy Events
Written by Mike Schulz   
Tuesday, 31 July 2012 06:00

Zac Brown BandMusic

The Zac Brown Band

i wireless Center

Friday, August 3, 7 p.m.

 

The country-music superstars of the Zac Brown Band will play the i wireless center on August 3, and among the group’s output is the 2012 CD You Get What You Give. Considering what the band has been giving over the years, it’s no wonder they’ve been getting so much!

 
What's Happenin': Thursday, July 19, through Wednesday, August 1 PDF Print E-mail
Lifestyle - Noteworthy Events
Written by Mike Schulz   
Tuesday, 17 July 2012 06:00

John FullbrightMusic

John Fullbright

Rozz-Tox

Friday, July 27, 9 p.m.

 

Discussing the widely acclaimed musician who will perform a special concert at Rock Island’s Rozz-Tox on July 27, the legendary singer/songwriter Jimmy Webb is quoted as saying, “I have no doubt that in a very short time, John Fullbright will be a household name in American music.”

I can’t imagine how Webb knew that Fullbright would eventually be highlighted in the Reader’s What’s Happenin’ pages, but let’s get cracking on that household-name thing!

 
What's Happenin': Thursday, July 5, through Wednesday, July 18 PDF Print E-mail
Lifestyle - Noteworthy Events
Written by Mike Schulz   
Tuesday, 03 July 2012 06:00

The Henry Clay PeopleMusic

The Henry Clay People and Futurebirds

Rock Island Brewing Company

Thursday, July 12, 8 p.m.

 

On July 12, the Rock Island Brewing Company will present a special Thursday-night two-fer, with sets by co-headliners The Henry Clay People and Futurebirds. Or, as I like to think of the musical mash-up that’ll result: The Henry Clay Pigeons.

Sorry. Horrible joke. It’s really humid today.

 
What's Happenin': Thursday, June 21, through Wednesday, July 4 PDF Print E-mail
Lifestyle - Noteworthy Events
Written by Mike Schulz   
Tuesday, 19 June 2012 06:00

XanaduTheatre

Xanadu

The District Theatre

Friday, June 29, through Saturday, July 14

 

In the new musical at Rock Island’s District Theatre, California chalk artist Sonny Malone finds himself frustrated with the design for his latest sidewalk mural, and plans to commit suicide. Viewing his distress from Mount Olympus, the muse Clio decides to travel to Earth to cheer him up, disguised as an Australian roller-skater in leg warmers. Upon meeting Clio, Sonny is inspired to open a lavish roller disco, an idea that doesn’t sit well with Clio’s evil sisters Melpomene and Calliope. Eventually, a retired-clarinetist-turned-real-estate-broker gets involved, and then the winged horse Pegasus, and then Zeus ... and if you think this sounds like the stupidest storyline ever conceived for a stage production, I couldn’t agree more.

Race you for tickets.

 
What's Happenin': Thursday, June 7, through Wednesday, June 20 PDF Print E-mail
Lifestyle - Noteworthy Events
Written by Mike Schulz   
Tuesday, 05 June 2012 06:00

The Split LiversMusic

The Split Livers

Rock Island Brewing Company

Wednesday, June 13, 8 p.m.

 

On June 13, the Rock Island Brewing Company presents a concert with the recently formed collaborative duo the Split Livers, which I like to think of as the Reese’s Peanut Butter Cup of the acoustic-punk bluegrass scene. My reasons for this are twofold. (1) Like peanut butter and chocolate, the Split Livers blends two separate ingredients – Wayne Gottstine of Split Lip Rayfield and Danny Barnes of Bad Livers – to form one signature taste. (2) Have you ever had a Reese’s Peanut Butter Cup? Those things are freakin’ awesome.

 
<< Start < Prev 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 Next > End >>

Page 18 of 68

Notable Events 30