Suscribe to Weekly RiverCitiesReader.com Updates
* indicates required

View previous campaigns.

What's Happenin': Thursday, April 12, through Wednesday, April 25 PDF Print E-mail
Lifestyle - Noteworthy Events
Written by Mike Schulz   
Tuesday, 10 April 2012 06:00

Big Bill MorganfieldMusic

Big Bill Morganfield

The Muddy Waters

Friday, April 20, 9 p.m.

 

Legendary blues musician McKinley Morganfield, better known by his nickname Muddy Waters, was born on April 4, 1913. Some 99 years and two weeks after his birth, the late great’s son Big Bill Morganfield will not only headline a local blues concert on April 20, but a concert taking place at the Bettendorf venue called The Muddy Waters. Man, that’s some kind of birthday acknowledgment. For my dad’s last birthday, I got him socks.

 
What's Happenin': Thursday, March 29, through Wednesday, April 11 PDF Print E-mail
Lifestyle - Noteworthy Events
Written by Mike Schulz   
Tuesday, 27 March 2012 06:00

Local HMusic

Local H

Rock Island Brewing Company

Friday, April 6, 9p.m.

 

Before embarking on an East Coast tour that takes the duo to New York, Massachusetts, and Delaware, the alternative rockers of Local H will, on April 6, play a concert at the Rock Island Brewing Company.

Rock Island? Hey, that’s where I live! “Rock Island! Woo-hoo! Ye-e-e-e-ea-a-ah-h!!!

Sorry. Just thought it’d be fun to act like one of those concertgoers who does that sort of thing.

 
What's Happenin': Thursday, March 15, through Wednesday, March 28 PDF Print E-mail
Lifestyle - Noteworthy Events
Written by Mike Schulz   
Tuesday, 13 March 2012 06:00

Jessica Denney and Pat Flaherty rehearse Mr. MarmaladeTheatre

Mr. Marmalade

Village Theatre

Thursday, March 22, through Sunday, April 1

 

Mr. Marmalade, which Davenport’s New Ground Theatre will stage from March 22 through April 1, is a comedy about a four-year-old girl named Lucy and her imaginary playmate of the show’s title. A businessman with bipolar disorder, a porn addiction, and a considerable cocaine problem, Mr. Marmalade tends to ignore Lucy as much as her one-night-stand-seeking single mother does, frequently leaving Lucy alone to contend with her suicidal five-year-old friend and ... .

A-a-a-and I’ve just lost at least half of you, haven’t I?

 
What's Happenin': Spring 2012 PDF Print E-mail
Lifestyle - Noteworthy Events
Written by Mike Schulz   
Tuesday, 28 February 2012 06:00

VOCES8Music

VOCES8

Galvin Fine Arts Center

Saturday, March 3, 7:30 p.m.

 

For the final performers in its 2011-12 Visiting Artists Series, Quad City Arts has booked an area residency with the renowned a cappella singers of VOCES8, and a glance at the group’s three most recent CDs shows its tracks to include “A Nightingale Sang in Berkeley Square,” “Kyrie from the Mass for Four Voices,” “Shenandoah,” “Me & My Shadow,” “Wir glauben an ainen Gott,” and “Jailhouse Rock.” Because apparently, it would’ve killed Quad City Arts to find performers with range.

 
What's Happenin': Thursday, February 16, through Wednesday, February 29 PDF Print E-mail
Lifestyle - Noteworthy Events
Written by Mike Schulz   
Tuesday, 14 February 2012 06:00
Maggie BrownMusic

Maggie Brown

River Music Experience

Sunday, February 19, and Monday, February 20

 

The late, great Duke Ellington was quoted as saying, “By and large, jazz has always been like the kind of a man you wouldn’t want your daughter to associate with.” Let’s be thankful, then, that this sentiment wasn’t adopted by legendary composer Oscar Brown Jr., or the modern jazz scene – as River Music Experience patrons will soon realize – would’ve been deprived of one awfully gifted daughter.

 
<< Start < Prev 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 Next > End >>

Page 20 of 68

Notable Events 30