Artists Catch the Solo Bug Print
Music - Music News
Written by John James   
Tuesday, 14 August 2001 18:00
• New solo projects abound this Tuesday from members of Giant Sand, Shudder to Think, and Buffalo Tom – all showcasing a different side of their musical pasts. Howie Gleb of Giant Sand makes a unique departure from his band’s Arizona desert psychedelia this Tuesday. Gleb’s new album on the Thrill Jockey label, entitled Lull Some Piano, is a solo-piano venture incorporating classical, jazz, and honky-tonk influences. As the former guitarist of Shudder to Think, Nathan Larson brewed some of the 1990s’ most interesting cerebral aggressive music. His new solo album, Jealous God on the Artemis label, takes a softer approach graced with a soulful vibe and lovelorn lyrical approach. The album features a duet with Nina Persson of the Cardigans on the track “Just Because a Man Expects Me to.” And after 15 years as the singer, guitarist, and songwriter for Buffalo Tom, Bill Janovitz is stepping up to the solo plate for the second time with his new Up Here set on the Spin Art label. The pensive, acoustic-based album features harmonic vocals by Chris Toppin of Fuzzy as well as Buffalo Tom comrade Phil Aiken on keyboards.

• Luke Haines has consistently been one of England’s most enigmatic and compelling songwriters as the driving spiritual force behind The Auteurs and Baader Meinhof, being twice nominated for that country’s Mercury Music Prize. Last month he called for a weeklong “strike against pop,” calling for seven days when “no pop music will be made, listened to, or consumed.” Coming on the heels of the release of his soundtrack to Christie Malry’s Own Double Entry and his own Oliver Twist Manifesto, was this self-serving capitalist propaganda or an artistic statement on our worldwide cult of celebrity? I highly recommend checking out a new collection of his third (and darkest) alter ego, Black Box Recorder; Jetset Records issues The Worst Of Black Box Recorder this Tuesday. The CD collects the band’s singles, B sides, and remixes, alongside four CD-ROM videos, with highlights being the group’s ultra-creepy version of Terry Jacks’ 1970’s tear-jerker “Seasons In the Sun” and a take on David Bowie’s “Rock n’ Roll Suicide.”

• The Dave Matthews Band and RCA Records have compiled 12 of the group’s music videos in a special VHS/DVD package hitting store shelves this Tuesday. Simply entitled The Videos 1994-2001, the DVD version follows the lead of motion-picture DVDs, with 5.1-channel audio and commentary by the clips’ directors.

• With shades of Willy Wonka’s gold certificates, the Alligator Records label is having a bit of lottery fun with this Tuesday’s 30th Anniversary Collection. The two-CD set features one disc of studio material, a second disc of live tracks, and a CD-ROM video of the label’s very first artist, Hound Dog Taylor, performing at the 1973 Ann Arbor Blues Festival. Twenty lucky buyers won’t be singing the blues if they find the special coupon hidden inside, because the certificate is worth quite a prize: the entire Alligator catalog to date.

Television Alert:
The Tonight Show with Jay Leno welcomes Shaggy tonight, Jagged Edge on Friday, and Sheryl Crow and Stevie Nicks on Monday; The Late Show with David Letterman hosts Dido tonight, The Black Crowes on Friday, and Maxwell on Tuesday; Late Night with Conan O’Brien features Train on Thursday overnight; The Late Late Show with Craig Kilborn drips Saliva on Thursday overnight and Adema on Monday overnight; and Saturday Night Live’s musical guest this weekend is Lenny Kravitz.

New Releases Coming Tuesday, August 21:
... and like the winds, young grasshopper, are subject to change.

Adema – Adema (Arista) featuring lead singer Mark Chavez, younger half-brother of Korn’s Jonathan Davis

Laurie Anderson – Life on a String (Warner Bros) with guests Lou Reed, Bill Frisell, and Van Dyke Parks

Bigwig – Invitation to Tragedy (Fearless)

Black Cat Music – Hands on the Estuary, Torso in the Lake (Lookout) like a phoenix rising from the ashes of The Criminals and The Receivers

The Casualties – Die Hards (Side One Dummy)

Chimaira – Pass Out of Existence (Roadrunner) featuring Jason Hager of Ascension

The Clean – Getaway (Merge) all new from this legendary New Zealand rock trio

Cowboy Nation – We Do as We Please (Real West/Paras) new from Chip and Tony Kinman of The Dils and Rand and File

Catie Curtis – My Shirt Looks Good on You (Ryko)

The Damned – Grave Disorder (Nitro) with original members Dave Vanian and Captain Sensible

Miles Davis – Live at the Fillmore East: It’s About That Time (Columbia Legacy) previously unreleased two-CD set from March 7, 1970 – one month before the release of Bitches Brew

Faith Evans – Faithfully (Arista) with Puff Daddy and Dr. Dre

The Fleshies – Kill the Dreamer’s Dream (Alternative Tentacles)

Robbie Fulks – Couples in Trouble (Boondoggle)

Glitter – original motion picture soundtrack (Virgin) all new from Mariah Carey

Glenn Hughes – Building the Machine (SPV) new from the former Deep Purple singer featuring guests Pat Travers and Toto vocalist Bobby Kimball

Etta James – Blue Gardenia (Private Music) featuring songs selected from the 1930s to the 1950s

Jefferson Airplane – Ignition (RCA) four-CD set compiling the band’s first four albums

Juvenile – Project English (Universal)

Lupine Howl – The Carnivorous Lunar Activities of Lupine Howl (Beggars Banquet) further adventures of former members of Spiritualized

Eddie M – Eddie M (Gold Circle) new solo album from the saxophonist of Prince & The Revolution, featuring a cover of Jr. Walker & The All Stars’ “What Does It Take” and guest vocalist Eric Benet

The Mamas & The Papas – All the Leaves Are Brown (Universal) two-CD anthology containing all four of the group’s original studio albums and rarities

Maxwell – Now (Columbia) featuring a cover of Kate Bush’s “This Woman’s Work”

Moviola – Rumors of the Faithful (Spirit Of Orr) from Columbus, Ohio

O – original motion picture soundtrack (Artemis) with Swerve, Kurupt, and The DJ Ran Project

Graham Parker – Deepcut to Nowhere (Razor & Tie) long-awaited new studio album, his first in five years

Leon Parker – The Simple Life (Label M) jazz percussionist featuring his take on Duke Ellington’s “Caravan”

Parker & Lily – Hello Halo (Orange) formerly known as Valentine Six

Phantom Limbs – Applied Ignorance (Alternative Tentacles) carnie-organ-infused theater punk rock for goths and freaks

River City Rebels – Playing to Live, Living to Play (Victory) New England punk band’s sophomore effort

Rollins Band – Nice (Sanctuary) angst uber alles from Henry and company

Ron Sexsmith – Boy Blue (Spinart)

The Shams – Take Off (Orange) straight outta Cincinnati featuring guests from The Greenhornes and Them Wranch

Billy Sheehan – Compression (Favored Nations) Mr. Big’s bass master is back with a new album featuring guests Steve Vai and Terry Bozzio

Angie Stone – Mahogany Soul (J Records)

Sugarcult – Start Static (Ultimatum/Artemis) featured on this summer’s Vans Warped tour

Superchunk – “Late Century Dream” (Merge) four-song CD single featuring an acoustic version of “Florida’s on Fire”

Tweaker – “Linoleum” (Six Degrees) new EP from former Nine Inch Nails member Chris Vrenna, with guest vocals by David Sylvian of Japan and remixes by Paul Leary of the Butthole Surfers

John Waite – Figure in a Landscape (Gold Circle) new solo album from the vocalist of The Babys and Bad English

The Waterboys – A Rock in a Weary Land (Razor & Tie) domestic release of this all-new critical favorite of last year with guests Thighpaulsandra of Spiritualized and the London Gospel Community

Zen Guerilla – Shadows on the Sun (SubPop)
blog comments powered by Disqus