Suscribe to Weekly Updates
* indicates required

View previous campaigns.

Bass Legends Hop on the Mule PDF Print E-mail
Music - Music News
Written by John James   
Thursday, 18 October 2001 18:00
• This Tuesday, the master musicians of four-string funk show up as guest players on the new Gov’t Mule album, The Deep End Volume 1. The record, on the ATO label, marks the band’s first studio recordings since the death last year of founding bassist Allen Woody. The list of guest bassists is a royal who’s who, with Bootsy Collins of P-Funk, Larry Graham of Sly & The Family Stone, Mike Watt of Firehose, Jack Bruce of Cream, Mike Gordon of Phish, Stefan Lessard of the Dave Matthews Band, John Entwistle of The Who, and Roger Glover of Deep Purple. The new album features nine tracks either written of co-written by Woody, and four cover selections, including a take on Grand Funk Railroad’s “Sin’s a Good Man’s Brother.” Other players joined in to lend a hand as well, including Phish keyboardist Page McConnell, former Alice in Chains guitarist Jerry Cantrell, and various members of the Black Crowes and the Allman Brothers Band. A second volume of The Deep End is due early next year with guest bassists Les Claypool of Primus and Me’Shell NdegéOcello.

• The Cramps have resurrected their Vengeance Records label now that they’ve regained artistic ownership of six of their classic albums from the mid- to late-1980s. The band launched the do-it-yourself Vengeance imprint with its debut seven-inch single “Human Fly” back in 1978, but it’s been inactive until now. The label this week re-issued on CD the titles Big Beat from Beatville, Date with Elvis, Look Ma No Head!, Smell of Female, Stay Sick!, and Rockinreelininaucklandnewzealand, all with bonus tracks that range from rare soundtrack cuts to B sides to a cover of the classic Peter Gunn surf instrumental. Vinyl purists need not fret, as this re-issue series is also available on LP, albeit without the extra tunes.

• Crass, the embodiment of anarchic English punk, has just released a DVD collection of the various video collages used as backdrops for its live shows. Entitled Semi-Detached Video Collages 1978-1984, this release from the band’s own label promises to be a most dark yet fascinating “fishtank” for your TV set. Nearly all those who haunted the punk scene of the 1980s have been affected by this fringe collective’s message of a snarling revolt against consumerism and British strife. The band’s early record albums housed fantastic fold-out art-collage posters, with a keen eye for political-propaganda icons and snotty hubris.

Television Alert:

The Tonight Show with Jay Leno welcomes Bush on Thursday, Bjork on Friday, and Charlotte Church on Tuesday; and The Late Late Show with Craig Kilborn hosts Ben Folds on Thursday overnight and Bush on Friday overnight.

New Releases Coming Tuesday, Oct. 23:
... and like the winds, young grasshopper, are subject to change

Bad Religion – The Process of Belief (Epitaph)

Bass Extremes – Just Add Water (Tone Center) reunion of jazz-fusion master musicians Steve Bailey and Victor Wooten

The Beanweevils – The Beanweevils (Weed) twisted pop from former Helios Creed bassist Bean

Bent – Programmed to Love (Ministry Of Sound)

R.L. Burnside – Burnside on Burnside (Fat Possum) live album

Bush – Golden State (Atlantic)

Cranberries – Wake Up & Smell the Coffee (Island) featuring the single “Analyse”

The Cult – Pure Cult (Beggars Banquet) DVD release collecting all the band’s videos and rare live performances

Miles Davis – The Complete “In a Silent Way” Sessions (Columbia Legacy) three-CD box set

Devin – Just Trying to Live (Virgin)

Dilated Peoples – Expansion Team (Capitol)

Dirty Rotten Imbeciles – Greatest Hits (Deadline) 17 tracks chronicling nearly 20 years of social chaos

DMX – The Great Depression (Def Jam) with guests Faith Evans, Mic Geronimo, Big Stan, and Drag-on

Elk City – The Sea Is Fierce (Warm) EP featuring a cover of Galaxie 500’s “Strange”

Empire State – Eternal Combustion (Warm) featuring members of Lambchop and BeeKeeper

Enigma – LSD: Love Sensuality Devotion (Virgin) greatest hits

Faith Evans – Faithfully (Arista) with Puff Daddy and Dr. Dre

Fireballs of Freedom – Welcome to the Octagon (Estrus) loud and proud from Portland, Oregon

The Frames – For the Birds (Overcoat) melancholia from Dublin, Ireland

Fu Manchu – California Crossing (Mammoth)

Fugazi – The Argument (Dischord) featuring new drummer Jerry Busher

Huntingtons – Songs in the Key of You (Tooth & Nail)

Incubus – Morning View (Immortal/Epic)

The International Noise Conspiracy – A New Morning Changing Weather (Epitaph) R&B-inspired power punk featuring former Refused vocalist Dennis Lyxzen and the single “Capitalism Stole My Virginity”

Jon the Dentist – Damn Trance (Topaz) resident DJ at Club Loco in Bristol, England

The Juliana Theory – Music from Another Room (Tooth & Nail)

Lenny Kravitz – Lenny (Virgin) featuring the single “Dig In”

Lisa “Left Eye” Lopes – Supernova (LaFace/Arista) new solo album from the TLC member

Damien “Jr. Gong” Marley – Halfway Tree (Ghetto Youth/Motown)

Dave Matthews Band – Live in Chicago 12/19/98 (RCA) two-CD set featuring a cover of Daniel Lanois’ “The Maker”

Mr. Len – Pity the Fool: Experiments in Therapy Behind the Mask of Music Handing Out Dummy Snacks (Matador)

Mushroom – Foxy Music (Innerspace)

Nectarine No. 9 – Received, Transgressed, an’ Transmitted (Beggars Banquet) weird genius from Edinburgh drawing comparisons to the Flaming Lips, Velvet Underground, and Trout Mask Replica-era Captain Beefheart

New Wet Kojak – No. 4 EP (Beggars Banquet)

No Redeeming Social Value – 40 oz. of Hardcore (Triple Crown) collection of three early albums and a new track from this New York City hardcore band

Charlie Patton – Screamin’ & Hollerin’ the Blues (Revenant) extensive homage to the Mississippi Delta blues legend in this seven-CD box set designed in the style of a 78-RPM-record slipcase

Q-Tip – Kamal the Abstract (Arista)

Rah Bras – Ruy Blas (Lovitt Records) driving dark electronica that brings to mind a mix of Diamanda Galas, King Crimson, and Lene Lovich

Ringworm – Birth Is Pain (Victory) from Cleveland, Ohio, featuring former members of Integrity

Jordan Rudess – Feeding the Wheel (Magna Carta) new from the Dixie Dregs and Dream Theater keyboardist with guests Terry Bozzio, Billy Sheehan, and Steve Morse

Hope Sandoval – Bavarian Fruit Bread (Sanctuary/Rough Trade) new solo work from the former Mazzy Star chanteuse with Colm O’Ciosoig of My Bloody Valentine

Simple Minds – Neon Lights (Eagle) collection of interesting covers such as Patti Smith’s “Dancing Barefoot,” Pete Shelly’s “Homosapian,” and David Bowie’s “The Man Who Sold the World”

Joe Stump – 2001: A Shred Odyssey (Leviathan) extreme guitar theatrics featuring a cover of Rainbow’s “Still I’m Sad”

Timbaland & Magoo – Indecent Proposal (Virgin)

Too Short – Chase the Cat (Jive) with guests Erick Sermon, George Clinton, China White, and MC Breed

Trembling Blue Stars – Alive to Every Smile (SubPop)

various artists – Cabana Beach Club (Street Beat) chill-out mix CD featuring Nightmares on Wax, Thievery Corporation, and Baptiste Love Rug

various artists – Lookout! Freakout Episode Two (Lookout) super-cheap sampler CD with previously unreleased tracks from Squirtgun, Black Cat Music, The Wanna Be’s, and American Steel

Jon Wahl & The Amadans – Sour Suite (Birdman) acoustic and electronic solo project from the former Clawhammer founder
blog comments powered by Disqus

Comments (0)Add Comment

Write comment
You must be logged in to post a comment. Please register if you do not have an account yet.