Suscribe to Weekly Updates
* indicates required

View previous campaigns.

Count on They Might Be Giants PDF Print E-mail
Music - Music News
Written by John M. James   
Wednesday, 30 January 2008 02:19

There Might Be Giants - Here Come the 123s Already the creators of the theme songs for The Oblongs and Higglytown Heroes, They Might Be Giants are back with a new CD for the minivan-crumb-snatcher set. This coming Tuesday, Disney Town Records releases the infectious, numerically themed Here Come the 123s, and who'd have thought that so much wisdom could be found in 24 songs about numbers? I mean, who can argue with the Zen attitude in "One Everything" and "Zeroes"? Other highlights include disco snap of "High Five," which could have slipped off the Thank God It's Friday soundtrack, the funky shrug of "Seven" (in collaboration with the Dust Brothers), and the easy I-can-do-it groove of "Infinity." A variety of animators created a bonus DVD of videos for each song, hosted by the double-John duo's puppet doppelgängers.

Germany's Rapster Records has put a baker's dozen of Prince's best through the covers machine in Controversy, released next week domestically through the !K7 Records imprint. While the biggest names on the CD crest at D'Angelo, covering "She's Always in My Hair," and the roots reggae beat of The Dynamics' workout of "Girls & Boys," there are challenging yet satisfying surprises around every corner. Can you dig "Critical" reinterpreted as a Euro-dance-floor popper by Rob Mello, or "Sign ‘O' the Times" in the way-out, draggy dub of Kode 9 & Space Ape's "Sine of the Dub"? Mixing up the sweet with the salty, a handful of selections show what a terrific songwriter the Purple One is, with Osunlade's warm harmony of "Crazy You" and the faint, restrained sadness evoked by Susanna & the Magical Orchestra's tiptoe through "Condition of the Heart."

More cover craziness can be found in the pages of the latest issue of Harp magazine. The January/February issue boasts a bonus globe-hopping CD titled Shout It Out Loud Music Volume One. Alongside tracks from Georgie James, Cut Off Your Hands, and the New Violators, Old 97's frontman Rhett Miller offers up his take on the Pixies favorite "Wave of Mutilation."


Television Alert


The Tonight Show with Jay Leno hosts Maroon 5 tonight; The Late Show with David Letterman presents Colbie Caillat on Thursday, Vampire Weekend on Friday, Sheryl Crow on Monday, and Lenny Kravitz on Tuesday; Jimmy Kimmel Live adds up Sum 41 this evening overnight; Martha Stewart gets crafty with Sarah Brightman on Thursday; The View chats with Toni Braxton on Friday; and Larry King Live lobs softballs at Snoop Dogg this weekend.


New Releases Coming Tuesday, February 5:


Air Traffic - Fractured Life (Astralwerks)

The Assassination of Jesse James by the Coward Robert Ford - original motion picture soundtrack (Mute) perfectly timed for the film's release on DVD this week, the soundtrack is by Nick Cave and Bad Seed Warren Ellis

Mick Barr - ANNWN (Hydra Head) metal fantasy orchestra of compositions written for multiple guitars

Bruford-Borstlap Duo - In Two Minds (Summerfold) second CD from Bill Bruford of King Crimson and Dutch keyboardist Michiel Borstlap, closing out with a cover of Miles Davis' "All Blues"

Jason Collett - Here's to Being Here (Arts & Crafts) solo album from the Broken Social Scene guitarist, with guests Andrew Whiteman of Apostle of Hustle and Lounge Lizard bassist Tony Scherr

Sheryl Crow - Detours (A&M) featuring the single "Shine Over Babylon"

Electric Light Orchestra - The Very Best of the Electric Light Orchestra, Vol. 2 (Epic Legacy) 20 tracks, including "Can't Get It Out of My Head" and "Do Ya"

Paul Hardcastle - 5 (Trippin N Rhythm) with new vocalist Beki Biggins

Tim Hensley - Long Monday (Rural Rhythm) debut from this talented hired gun whose tour résumé includes Kenny Chesney and Ricky Scaggs, featuring the title track written by John Prine

Honeydripper - original motion picture soundtrack (Rhino) featuring a rare cut by Ruth Brown, actor Danny Glover taking the mic for "Goin' Down Slow," and new music from Keb' Mo'

The Hooters - Time Stand Still (MRI) all new, featuring a cover of Don Henley's "Boys of Summer"

HorrorPops - Kiss Kiss Kill Kill (Hellcat) the Danish trio gets lost in the icons of American film with songs including "Hitchcock Starlet"

Hot Chip - Made in the Dark (Astralwerks) also available in a limited edition featuring a bonus DVD

Iron Maiden - Live After Death (New Door) two-DVD set filmed during a four-night stand in 1984 and their opening slot for Queen before 300,000 fans in Rio in 1985, featuring bonus documentaries and artwork galleries

Matt King - Rube (Montage Music) with music from the horror film Trailer Park of Terror

Kinky - Reina (Kin-Kon/Nettwerk) expanded reissue from 2006, featuring a cover of Wall of Voodoo's "Mexican Radio"

Lenny Kravitz - It Is Time for a Love Revolution (Virgin)

k.d. lang - Watershed (Nonesuch) all new and backed by a new band, this fantastic return is her first original music since 2000

The Loved Ones - Build & Burn (Fat Wreck) with new guitarist Dave Walsh and bassist Chris Gonzalez of The Explosion, this sophomore release features guests Tad Kubler and Franz Nicolay of the Hold Steady

Aidan John Moffat - I Can Hear Your Heart (Chemikal Underground) spoken-word album from the Arab Strap co-founder

Bob Mould - District Line (Anti) with Brendan Canty of Fugazi

My Blueberry Nights - original motion picture soundtrack (Blue Note) with a score by Ry Cooder, the CD boasts a new song by Norah Jones and tracks by Cat Power, Cassandra Wilson, and Otis Redding

Nada Surf - Lucky (Barsuk) with guests John Roderick of the Long Winters and Ben Gibbard of Death Cab For Cutie

OK Go & Bonerama - You're Not Alone (iTunes) five-song digital team-up EP benefiting musicians displaced by hurricane Katrina; featuring covers of Bob Dylan's "I Shall Be Released" and David Bowie's "Rock 'n' Roll Suicide"

Arlen Roth - Toolin' Around Woodstock (Aquinnah Records) all new guitar heaven on his artist-owned label with guests Levon Helm, Bill Kirchen, and Sonny Landreth; the CD and DVD package features covers of Bob Dylan's "Ballad of a Thin Man" and Chuck Berry's "Sweet Little Sixteen" and "Deep Feeling"

School of Language - Sea from Shore (Thrill Jockey) new from David Brewis from Field Music

The Setting Sons - The Setting Sons (DH Records) new CD EP from Adam Franklin of Swervedriver and Sam Fogarino of Interpol

Sleep Station - The Pride of Chester James (Eyeball) concept CD from David Debiak

State Radio - Year of the Crow (Ruff Shod Records) featuring "Keepsake," recently heard on Showtime's Weeds

These New Puritans - "Navigate, Navigate" (Domino) debut 12-inch single from this teenage quartet from Southbend, UK

Paul Weller - Wild Wood (Yep Roc) expanded two-CD reissue from 1993, packed with demos, BBC sessions, and B sides

Yip-Yip - Two Kings of the Same Kingdom (S.A.F. Records) Orlando, Florida, electronic duo, featuring a bonus DVD with homemade videos for each song

Thom Yorke - "Harrowdown Hill" (XL Recordings) the last in the label's trio of 12-inch remix singles from The Eraser

various artists - What's Happening in Pernambuco: New Sounds of the Brazilian Northeast (Luaka Bop) 13 tracks of rhythm-mashing new sounds percolating in this testament to the creativity of the Mangue Beat scene

blog comments powered by Disqus

Comments (0)Add Comment

Write comment
You must be logged in to post a comment. Please register if you do not have an account yet.