Suscribe to Weekly Updates
* indicates required

View previous campaigns.

Hurry Up and Bring Your Jukebox Money PDF Print E-mail
Music - Music News
Written by John M. James   
Wednesday, 20 February 2008 02:31

Funplex With a rush like the first road trip of spring, the B-52s are back next week after a decade of silence with a rousting bop-'til-you-drop CD. Titled Funplex, the floor-shaking Astralwerks release is a time trip to the golden era of carefree college radio, with the beehive harmony sway of Kate Pierson and Cindy Wilson and the unique vocal styling of Fred Schneider, cutting through today's gloomy emo haze with a love-shack karate chop to the sacroiliac. Helmed by Keith Strickland, the band's original drummer who picked up main guitar duties after the death of Ricky Wilson in 1985, highlights on the hook-heavy disc include the afternoon delight of "Ultraviolet," the martini-mile drive of "Deviant Ingredient," and the meet-me-at-the-mall hedonistic sass of the title track.

More old-school grooves are captured in another danceable release this coming Tuesday, with Strut Records' compilation CD Funky Nassau: The Compass Point Story 1980-1986. Caressed by the warm sun, Chris Blackwell's seminal Compass Point Studios was the place to be in the Bahamas for those musicians who flocked under the wing of Sly & Robbie, hosting and kneading the freshest sounds of the day into new dub visions. Extensive liner notes by David Katz, author of the Lee Perry biography People Funny Boy, tell the laid-back tale, a perfect music-history lesson to get lost in while the music plays. Featuring original tracks and 12-inch versions from Gwen Guthrie, Ian Dury, Will Powers, and Grace Jones, hard-to-finds gems such as the club versions of the Talking Heads' "Born Under Punches" and the Tom Tom Club's "Genius of Love" alongside forgotten magic from Chas Jankel and Set the Tone make this a must-seek late-night pleasure.

Another recording studio shows off the fruits of its labor next week, with Rare Book Room Records' release of Living Bridge, a collection of 25 songs recorded at the label's Brooklyn studios. The two-CD set features a cool mix of smart artists such as Deerhunter, Tara Jane O'Neil, Rings, Black Dice, and Fisherspooner. All the tracks were recorded for this collection, except for the Sliver Jews' "Self Ignition," which popped up as a B side on a rare UK seven-inch single.

It might be a lost cause and a little too late, but I dig Sony BMG's new format entry into the marketplace - something that brick-and-mortar retailers can actually sell, and something that consumers can actually hold in the hand. In stores now or coming soon to a peg-board 'hood near you, the Platinum Musicpass is a credit-card-sized "mix tape" of MP3 tracks ready to activate online and sweep onto your personal digital device. Whether "the kids" will embrace these themed collections, such as Everlasting Love, '70s Pop Hits, and Sensational '60s, the fact that a parent can walk into a record store with a child and buy him or her a card with 18 Bob Dylan hits, bypassing the Internet download services, is rather nice.


Television Alert


The Tonight Show with Jay Leno hosts Garth Brooks tonight, John Fogerty Thursday, and Lupe Fiasco on Tuesday; The Late Show with David Letterman boasts Foo Fighters tonight and Diddy on Friday; Late Night with Conan O'Brien presents The Whigs this evening and Black Mountain on Thursday overnight; The Late Late Show with Craig Ferguson passes one down to Ziggy Marley this evening; Last Call with Carson Daly offers Shiny Toy Guns tonight, Fat Joe on Thursday, and Shooter Jennings Friday overnight; The Ellen DeGeneres Show charms Willie Nelson on Thursday and Garth Brooks on Monday; Larry King Live welcomes American Idol's Randy Jackson this weekend; and Saturday Night Live's musical guest this week is Carrie Underwood.


New Releases Coming Tuesday, February 26:


Erykah Badu - New AmErykah (Motown) featuring the single "Honey"

Beach House - Devotion (Carpark) featuring a cover of Daniel Johnson's "Some Things Last Long Time"

Black Tide - Light from Above (Interscope) produced by Johnny K

Cowboy Junkies - Trinity Revisited (Zoe/Latent) going back to the setting of the album's original recording in Toronto's Trinity Church, the band recreates the album in its entirety 20 years later on CD and DVD with guests Natalie Merchant, Vic Chesnutt, and Ryan Adams

Davana - UnonoU (Kemado) seven tracks of fuzz-sludge decadence spread over almost an hour, the band starts a nationwide tour next month with Acid Mothers Temple

Four Letter Lie - What a Terrible Thing to Say (Victory) new album recorded after touring last year with Scary Kids Scaring Kids and Static Lullaby

Goldfrapp - Seventh Tree (Mute) also available in an LP vinyl edition (featuring a bonus poster) and a deluxe-edition CD (featuring a box case, lyric book, and DVD)

Tommy Guerrero - Return of the Bastard (Galaxia) anticipated new album - the eighth - from the former Bones Brigade skateboard superstar and multi-instrumentalist

Mike Hale - Broken with No Hope (Asian Man) new from the former member of Gunmoll

Chip Hanna & The Berlin Three - Chip Hanna & the Berlin Three (Acetate) backed by the German psychobilly band Mad Sin, this wild country rumble features a cover of the Bouncing Souls' "True Believer"

Chris Hicks - Dog Eat Dog World (Ramblin' Records) new solo album from the Marshall Tucker Band lead guitarist

Janet Jackson - Discipline (Def Jam) also available in a deluxe edition featuring a bonus DVD

Jettie - Kites for Charity (Eyeball) from Sweden

Jinnrail - Million Lifetimes (Girlfight Records)

Leeland - Opposite Way (Essential)

Monster in the Machine - Butterfly Pinned (Emotional Syphon) on the lbael owned by James "Munky" Shaffer of Korn, the CD features Puddle of Mudd's Douglas Ardito and the Vandal's Josh Freese

Donny Osmond - From Donny ... with Love (Universal) import-only new album featuring his cover of Al Green's "Let's Stay Together"

Pegasuses-XL - The Antiphon (Ernest Jennings) featuring members of Disband, We Versus the Shark, and the Arrogant Sons of Bitches

Robert Pollard - "Folded Claws" (Happy Jack Rock Records) the ninth seven-inch single in the Guided by Voices founder's new series with exclusive B sides

Power Pill Fist - Kongmanivong (Graveface Records) new from Ken Fec of Black Moth Super Rainbow

Rocket from the Crypt - R.I.P. (Vagrant) CD and DVD set of the band's final show in 2005

Semi-Pro - original motion picture soundtrack (New Line) featuring Will Ferrell's own "Love Me Sexy" and music from the Brothers Johnson, Ohio Players, War, Ronnie Laws, and Jean Knight

State Bird - Mostly Ghostly (Record Machine) housed in a cool, low-impact envelope case, this basement-born psychedelic folk is a tumble of humble instrumentation and lovely, haunting melodies

Luke Temple - "Brain" (Seven Inch Project) limited-edition seven-inch single

Chris Thile & the Punch Brothers - Punch (Nonesuch) new from the Nickel Creek mandolin player

Tarja Turunen - My Winter Storm (Vertigo/Universal) the album's first single was inspired by Mozart's Requiem, and this solo debut from Finland's Nightwish vocalist is a majestic metal fantasy

various artists - Om: Chilled V. 2 (Om Records) 14 tracks featuring Edison Gem, Techno Squirrels, and King Kooba

blog comments powered by Disqus

Comments (0)Add Comment

Write comment
You must be logged in to post a comment. Please register if you do not have an account yet.