Labels Work Together to Speed Tribute Album Print
Music - Music News
Written by John James   
Tuesday, 27 November 2001 18:00
• The “big five” major music companies – Sony, EMI, BMG, Universal, and the Warner Music Group – have laid down their swords and come together to rush the release this Tuesday of America: A Tribute to Heroes, a not-for-profit CD, VHS, or DVD documenting the somber benefit broadcast from September 21. The original commercial-free simulcast reached 210 countries and has brought in more than $150 million for the September 11 Telethon Fund. To fast-track the set into stores for more fundraising awareness, the major players in the record business waived artist fees and publishing agreements to let the music play. Highlights include Bruce Springsteen’s “My City of Ruins,” Billy Joel’s “New York State of Mind,” Alicia Keys’ “Someday We’ll All Be Free,” and Neil Young’s stunning cover of John Lennon’s “Imagine.”

• Limp Bizkit releases its new remix album this Tuesday on the Flip/Interscope imprint. The 16-track set features mixing-board commanders The Neptunes, Butch Vig, DJ Lethal, P. Diddy, William Orbit, Timbaland, and the Dub Pistols tackling “Nookie,” “Counterfeit,” “My Way,” and other songs with the help of guests Everlast, Bubba Sparxxx, and E-40. The collection, entitled New Old Songs, also features a cover of George Michael’s “Faith,” previously only available as a B side on the British CD single of “Boiler.” Look for the video directorial debut from frontman Fred Durst, as he recently stepped behind the lens to call the shots on the 8Ball video “Stop Playing Games.”

• Filmmaker Wes Anderson’s upcoming The Royal Tenenbaums promises a stunning soundtrack CD just as tasty as his previous Rushmore set. Hitting stores next month, the soundtrack features a score by Mark Mothersbaugh of DEVO, a cover of The Beatles’ “Hey Jude” by Elliott Smith, and tracks from The Clash, The Ramones, Velvet Underground, and Nick Drake.

• KISS and Make-Up, the long-awaited autobiography from Gene Simmons of KISS, is due the first week in December on the Crown Books imprint. The truth-or-dare sizzler is sure to be ripe with stories of rock-and-roll excess, control of the KISS dynasty, and Simmons’ own legendary tour dalliances.

• As DVD players become more common in American homes, the new format is continuing to open up new ideas and possibilities. Eagle Eye Media has embraced the format for its new Classic Albums look at seminal heavy-metal records. Earlier this month the series debuted with the up-close look at Judas Priest’s British Steel from 1980. The documentary features extensive interviews and commentary by the band members, producer Tom Allom, and journalist Mick Wall. Highlights include the band demonstrating signature riffs, sound-effect secrets, and recording-session memories from the studio/country house – where John Lennon filmed his famous “white room” video for “Imagine.” Also of interest is vocalist Rob Halford’s musings on his replacement by singer Tim “Ripper” Owens, a rock-and-roll Cinderella story recently spun into the film Rock Star. This Tuesday the label issues a similar DVD examination of Iron Maiden’s Number of the Beast from 1982, featuring the hit “Run to the Hills.”

• Also on the DVD front is this Tuesday’s release of Joe Jackson Live in Tokyo, featuring a Jumpin’ Jive medley, a lyrically altered version of his “Sunday Papers,” and hits such as “You Can’t Get What You Want,” “I’m the Man,” and “One More Time.” Earlier this month his label, A&M, released the 12-clip DVD collection Steppin’ Out: The Best of, collecting all his videos from a career stretching musically from energetic pop-punk to smoldering nightclub jazz.

• Look for a new “super-group” of players from alternative-rock royalty in a new ear-numbing incantation, Tomahawk, and its new self-titled album. Made up of Mike Patton from Faith No More, Duane Denison of Jesus Lizard, John Stanier of Helmet, and Kevin Rutmanis of the Melvins, the quartet is hunting scalps on the Melvin’s own Ipecac Records label.

Television Alert:

The Tonight Show with Jay Leno welcomes Incubus on Thursday, Destiny’s Child on Friday, Creed on Monday, and Busta Rhymes on Tuesday; The Late Show with David Letterman serves up Cake on Thursday; Late Night with Conan O’Brien features Dr. John on Friday overnight, Jude on Monday overnight, and Queens of the Stone Age on Tuesday overnight; The Late Late Show with Craig Kilborn hosts Spearhead on Thursday overnight; and Saturday Night Live’s musical guest this weekend is Bubba Sparxxx.

New Releases Coming Tuesday, Dec. 4:
... and like the winds, young grasshopper, are subject to change

Yolanda Adams – Believe (Elektra)

Ali – original motion picture soundtrack (Interscope) with R. Kelly, Angie Stone, Organized Noise, and Carlos Santana with Everlast

Bevis Frond – Triptych (Rubric) CD re-issue

Cypress Hill – Stoned Raiders (Columbia) with guests Redman, Method Man, and Kurupt

Nate Dogg – Music & Me (Elektra)

Fat Joe – Jealous Ones Still Envy (Atlantic)

Firesign Theater – Waiting for the Electrician or Someone Else Like Him, I Think We’re All Bozos on This Bus, Don’t Crush That Dwarf Hand Me the Pliers, and How Can You Be in Two Places at Once When You’re Not Anywhere at All? (Columbia Legacy) all CD re-issues

Funkmaster Flex – Volume V (Loud/Columbia)

Gentle Giant – Out of the Woods: The BBC Sessions 1970-1975 (Fuel 2000) 14 seminal tracks recorded live in the studio

Guided by Voices/Airport 5 – Selective Service (Recordhead) another transmission from the Fading Captain series, this time collecting three rare seven-inch singles from Robert Pollard and Tobin Sprout

Ice Cube – Greatest Hits (Priority)

LARRY – Among Friends (Lauan Records) self-described “junk rock” from Austin, Texas

Mack 10 – Bang or Ball (Universal) with guests Ice Cube and the Cash Money Millionaires

Mouse on Mars – Agitt Itter It It (Thrill Jockey) five new tracks spread over its seven-inch and CD-single versions

Mushroomhead – XX (Universal) macabre nu-metal from Cleveland, Ohio

Noogie – Remote Controller (Trauma) featuring a cover of the Easybeats’ “Friday on My Mind”

Not Another Teen Movie – original motion picture soundtrack (Maverick) featuring Mest’s cover of Modern English’s “I Melt with You,” Saliva’s take on the Pretenders’ “Message of Love,” and Stabbing Westward’s spin on New Order’s “Bizarre Love Triangle”

Outkast – Greatest Hits (Arista)

Terry Francis Presents – Architecture Volume 2 (Pagan) dubby “tech-house” from the DJ at London’s Wiggle club

The One – original motion picture soundtrack (Varese Sarabande) the new Jet Li film featuring music composed by Yes guitarist Trevor Rabin

U2 – Elevation 2001 Live (Interscope) two-disc interactive DVD filmed by 20 cameras in Boston

Yes – Magnification (Beyond) all new featuring the band’s classic lineup of Jon Anderson, Steve Howe, Chris Squire, and Alan White with a 300-piece orchestra
blog comments powered by Disqus