New Film a Love Letter to Indie Rock Print
Music - Music News
Written by John James   
Tuesday, 20 November 2001 18:00
• The new independent film Dean Quixote is an indie-rock love letter, with an appearance by Dayton, Ohio’s Guided by Voices and a tastefully selected soundtrack. Just released on the spinART Records label, it features the band’s “If We Wait” alongside Olivia Tremor Control, Beachwood Sparks, The Minders, Bevis Frond, Bettie Serveert, and Orchestra Fantastique, a new side project from Robert Schneider of The Apples in Stereo. A few nifty covers bubble up as well, with Rebar’s take on Peter Tosh’s “Legalize It” and Spink’s twist on Will Oldham’s “New Partner.”

• Crack your knuckles and get ready for some major finger snappin’, as Capitol Records is gearing up for a new wave of Rat Pack fever with the new re-make of Ocean’s 11 in theaters December 7. Last week the label released a new 18-track collection and a definitive live document from the original trio of Frank Sinatra, Dean Martin, and Sammy Davis Jr., stars of the original 1960 film. The collection, entitled Eee-O: The Best of the Rat Pack, covers the years 1952 through 1964 and features classics like Martin’s signature “Ain’t That a Kick in the Head” and “You’re Nobody ‘Til Somebody Loves You,” Sinatra’s “The Lady Is a Tramp,” and Davis’ “Eee-O Eleven.” Are you feeling Vegas yet? Bet the house, raise your glass, and pour out the love with the live set, Live at the Sands, capturing the trio in the Copa Room on September 7, 1963, as they sing, perform impersonations, and crack wise with each other. Some of the standards featured include “I Only Have Eyes for You,” “Please Be Kind,” and “Call Me Irresponsible.”

• The Birdman label has just released a second CD in its It Came from Memphis series that accompanies Robert Gordon’s recently re-issued reference book of the same name. This American-roots-music collection features essential tracks from Jerry Lawler, Tav Falco’s Panther Burns, Jim Dickinson, Otha Turner, and more. Just as exhaustive in its detail is another book released earlier this month by Shangri-La Projects, this time focusing on the niche era of crowd-pleasers that rocked the Memphis college scene at clubs like the Roaring ‘60s and the Tonga Club from 1960 through 1975. That new book, Playing for a Piece of the Door: A History of Garage & Frat Bands in Memphis, is penned by Ron Hall, who was a part of that original scene with 13th Muse. His 172 pages of memories are wonderfully thick with dandy photos and original seven-inch label artwork. Warm up the old tube amp, and get lost in this time trip, as it, too, has an accompanying CD, featuring local heroes of the day such as Flash & The Casuals, The Coachmen, The Rapids, The Rapscallions, and The Changin’ Tymes.

• The pop-culture curators at Krause Publications have just issued a new detailed price guide that focuses strictly on the vinyl side of record collecting: the Goldmine Standard Catalog of American Records, 1976 to Present. The 672-page book identifies the pressings of more than 50,000 LPs, 45s, and 12-inch singles that rocked basements and bedrooms to the analog beat on rich, warm wax. Covering major and independent labels that have continued to release limited-edition vinyl even today, the guide is full of history and imagery, with nifty-colored vinyl and artwork that overshadowed today’s five-inch-square CD squeeze. Authored by Goldmine’s Tim Neely, this is the only price guide that bows down to the licorice pizza as King of Formats, holding its death grip against the tide of digital alternatives.

• In recognition of its nomination for the prestigious 2001 Mercury Music Prize Award, the Mute label has just released a limited edition of the stunning Felt Mountain album by Goldfrapp, featuring a bonus cover of Olivia Newton John’s “Let’s Get Physical,” enhanced videos, and new re-mixes. The smoky satin delivery of vocalist Alison Goldfrapp and her band’s lush cascades are perfect for a new James Bond theme and can transform your bachelor pad into a twinkling love lair on a chilly eve. On Tuesday overnight next week Late Night with Conan O’Brien features this amazing new artist, launching a small tour of select North American cities later this month.

• Literally wrapped in the American flag and white fur, MC Hammer is scaring me with his new Active Duty album, rushed to meet the war-fueled American pride by the World Hit Records label. Recently seen in bad commercials on late-night TV, Hammer, a former member of the Navy, wants us to know that “I served my country as a soldier, now I’ll serve with music.” Featuring tracks like “No Stoppin’ Us – USA” and “A Soldier’s Letter,” the new album looks to gain interest from VH1’s new Too Legit to Quit: The MC Hammer Story documentary to air in December. Oh, Hammer, please hurt ‘em.

Television Alert:

The Late Show with David Letterman welcomes Kid Rock tonight; The Tonight Show with Jay Leno has Smash Mouth on Friday, Jill Scott on Monday, and Ryan Adams on Tuesday; Late Night with Conan O’Brien hosts Ben Folds on Thursday overnight and Jewel on Friday overnight; and The Late Late Show with Craig Kilborn gets Caucasian with Leona Naess on Thursday overnight and Mercury Rev on Monday overnight.

New Releases Coming Tuesday, November 27:
... and like the winds, young grasshopper, are subject to change

Astralasia – Something Somewhere (Transient) the ninth album of thumping UK dance music from the mind of remix agent Swordfish, founding member of the Salt Tank collective

Belle & Sebastian – Storytelling (Matador) all new material featured in the upcoming Todd Solondz film

Hadacol – All in Your Head (Slewfoot) the band’s name comes from the potent elixir hawked by Hank Williams in the 1940s

Ludacris – Word of Mouth (Def Jam) with guests 8 Ball, Mystikal, Nate Dogg and Three 6 Mafia

Busta Rhymes – Genesis (J Records) with guests Madonna, Kid Rock, Mary J. Blige, Dr. Dre and Jill Scott

Smash Mouth – Smash Mouth (Interscope) the group’s third album

Teenage Fanclub – Howdy! (Thirsty Ear) all new from the Scottish power-pop group

various artists – Honest Don’s Dirty Dishes (Honest Don’s)

various artists – Lynne Me Your Ears: A Tribute To Jeff Lynne (Not Lame) tribute album to ELO founder featuring Todd Rundgren, SWAG, Sixpence None the Richer, Ben Lee and more
blog comments powered by Disqus