ScarJo Steals Waits’ Mojo Print
Music - Music News
Written by John M. James   
Wednesday, 14 May 2008 02:07

Anywhere I Lay My Head Another actress crosses over into music next week with the release of Anywhere I Lay My Head from Scarlett Johansson. Featuring one original track, "Song for Jo," co-written with David Sitek of TV on the Radio (who also serves as producer and player), the rest of the CD consists of interpretations of songs by Tom Waits. Guests include Nick Zimmer of the Yeah Yeah Yeahs, Sean Antanaitis of Celebration, and David Bowie on two tracks: "Fannin' Street" and "Falling Down."

Wrapped in a Lone Ranger mask and wielding an electric guitar, gentle pianist Norah Jones is trying to keep her secret rock-band identity under wraps. Jones' side project El Madmo hits store shelves with the trio's self-titled debut this coming Tuesday on Conor Oberst's Team Love label. Featuring a track titled "Rock Yer Balls Off," don't expect any weepy ballads.

This coming Tuesday the genre-crossing quartet Beatallica releases its latest mix-up of the Beatles as if written and performed by Metallica with All You Need Is Blood, a 14-track CD that features the song translated by fans and then recorded in a variety of languages, including Russian, Estonian, Portuguese, Hebrew, South Korean, Hungarian, and Dutch. Look for the band on its upcoming Let It Drinkus Maximus Tour, and the CD on the Oglio Records imprint.

Next week Table of Elements Records issues two more editions in its Guitar Series experiment that began in 1993. Only available as 12-inch clear-vinyl EPs, these next freak-outs from Ateleia/Benjamin Curtis and Collections of Colonies of Bees feature an etched B side by twisted illustrator Savage Pencil.

Rhino Records is also diving back into the lovely black wax with new reissues of favorites including Led Zepellin's The Song Remains the Same from 1976, Rickie Lee Jones' self-titled debut from 1979, James Taylor's Mud Slide Slim & the Blue Horizon from 1971, and ZZ Top's Fandango from 1975.


Television Alert:


The Tonight Show with Jay Leno hosts Kate Nash tonight, Dwight Yoakam on Thursday, and Jason Mraz on Tuesday; The Late Show with David Letterman boasts Kid Rock tonight and Leona Lewis on Tuesday; Late Night with Conan O'Brien presents The Black Keys this evening, MGMT on Thursday, and Devotchka on Monday overnight; Jimmy Kimmel Live features the return of Joe Jackson this evening and the Pussycat Dolls on Tuesday overnight; The Ellen DeGeneres Show chats it up with Duffy and Justin Timberlake on Friday, Janet Jackson on Monday, and Alanis Morissette on Tuesday; Tavis Smiley talks with Carly Simon this evening and Donna Summer on Monday; and Saturday Night Live's musical guest this weekend is Usher.


New Releases Coming Tuesday, May 20:


3 Doors Down - 3 Doors Down (Republic/Universal)

Raashan Ahmad - The Push (Om) mighty boom-bap hip-hop beats and lightning old-school flow from the Crown City Rockers MC, infused with positive, street-rollin' soul

Beardfish - Sleeping in Traffic: Part Two (Inside Out) conceptual prog-rock from Sweden

Bonnie "Prince" Billy - Lie Down in the Light (Drag City) with guests Shahzad Izmaily and Emmett Kelly

Kira Lynn Cain - The Ideal Hunter (Evangeline) featuring drummer Tim Mooney of American Music Club, this parlor noir is just waiting to be featured on a David Lynch soundtrack

The California Guitar Trio - Echoes (Inner Knot) with guests Tony Levin, Pat Mastelottom and Bonnie "Prince" Billy

The Canon Logic - White Balloon EP (LightsCameraWolfgang Records) these three joyful, poppy songs channel Beach Boy harmonies with modern-rock snap

Dare - Belief and Beneath the Shining Water (Legend/Rock Ridge) domestic issue of these two CDs in one package from Darren Wharton, formerly of Thin Lizzy

Dresden Dolls - No, Virginia (Roadrunner) companion CD to Yes, Virginia from 2006, this B-sides and new-music collection features a cover of The Psychedelic Furs' "Pretty in Pink"

Eljuri - En Paz (Manovill) featuring reggae legends Sly & Robbie and Concrete Blonde's Johnette Napolitano

Flobots - Fight with Tools (Republic/Universal) socially conscious hip-hop from Denver's Jonny 5 and Brer Rabbit

Free Kitten - Inherit (Ecstatic Peace) with guest guitarist J Mascis of Dinosaur Jr.

Gamma Ray - Land of the Free Part II (Steamhammer/SPV) all new from Kai Hansen of Helloween

Veda Hille - This Riot Life (Ape House) released on the boutique label owned by Andy Partridge of XTC, this talented Vancouver artist has previously composed a children's opera about trees

I See Hawks in L.A. - Hallowed Ground (Big Book Records) with guest Dave Zirbel of Commander Cody's band on pedal steel guitar

Jeremy Jay - A Place Where We Could Go (K Records) fragile, ostracized, shadowy basement pop with a nod to the Velvet Underground

Joan of Arc - Boo! Human (Polyvinyl) recorded in one week by the 14-member collective, the new album features the quizzical track "A Tell-Tale Penis"

King's X - XV (Inside Out/SPV) the 15th album from the powerful trio

Sonny Landreth - From the Reach (Landfall) with guests Mark Knopfler, Eric Clapton, Eric Johnson, Vince Gill, Jimmy Buffett, and Dr. John

Liquid Liquid - Slip In & Out of Phenomenon (Domino) anthology of three EPs and bonus tracks from these influential New York City art-school post-punks

The Loose Acoustic Trio - Sorrow Be Gone (Big Book Records) folky plucking with a madcap punk sensibility, the sophomore CD features a twisted take on the Who's "Pinball Wizard"

Mates of State - Re-Arrange Us (Barsuk) the album features production by Jim Eno of Spoon and Chris Wlla of Death Cab for Cutie

Morrissey - "All You Need Is Me" (Polydor/Decca) import-only CD single featuring a B-side cover of David Bowie's "Drive-in Saturday"

Jason Mraz - We Sing, We Dance, We Steal Things (Atlantic) featuring collaborations with Cobie Cailat and James Morrison

Mudhoney - Superfuzz Bigmuff (Sub Pop) 20th-anniversary expanded reissue with lots of bonus goodies

Mudhoney - The Lucky Ones (Sub Pop) all new

Okay - Huggable Dust (Absolutely Kosher) 18 quirky, spooky, oddly composed ditties from Marty Anderson

Osaka Popstar - Rock'em O-Sock'em Live! (Misfits Records) featuring members of The Ramones, The Misfits, Black Flag, and The Voidoids, the CD includes an exclusive "Garbage Pail Kids" trading card

Royal Hunt - Collision Course/Paradox II (Magna Carta) Danish prog-rock with Yngwie Malmsteen vocalist Mark Boals

Genji Siraisi - Surviving Freedom: Uncensored Remixes & Naughty Bits (Expansion Team) the Groove Collective drummer percolates cool rhythms with chilled electronica

Curt Smith - Halfway, Pleased (Kook Media) domestic issue of this new album from the Tears for Fears co-founder

Donna Summer - Crayons (Burgandy) her first new album in 17 years

Steve Von Till - A Grave Is a Grim Horse (Neurot) solo acoustic album from the Neurosis vocalist and guitarist, featuring new originals and covering songs by Lyle Lovett, Nick Drake, and Townes Van Zandt

Toy Gun Cowboy - Big Blue (Gutter Groove) captivating, slightly psychedelic third release from the one-man band of Matthew Erickson

Kenny "Blues Boss" Wayne - Can't Stop Now (Electro-Fi) the boogie-woogie piano man's third album for the label features guest Jeff Healey on "You Cured My Blues"

The Wedding Present - El Ray (Manifesto) recorded earlier this year by Steve Albini

Weed - Weed (Revisited/SPV) reissue of this Kraut-rock rarity from 1971, featuring Uriah Heep vocalist Ken Hensley

Mike Zito - Today (Electro Groove) backed by a killer band featuring Heartbreaker Benmont Tench, the guitarist's debut features a relaxed, must-hear cover of Prince's "Little Red Corvette"

various artists - Nervous Nightlife: Vegas (Nervous Records) mix CD compiled by the production team of Austin Leeds and Starkillers

blog comments powered by Disqus