The Verve Makes a Splashy Return Print
Music - Music News
Written by John M. James   
Wednesday, 20 August 2008 02:05

The Verve - Forth The Verve is rolling out the red carpet for its return next week in bonus-packed limited editions of the new album Forth. A CD/DVD set is available at retail, housed in a bound-book-style package and featuring the 20-minute documentary Space & Time and five songs from the band's performance this past May at Coachella. Fans still gobbling up the various exclusive B sides on the first single, "Love Is Noise," can order the deluxe box set from The Verve's official online store, boasting an audiophile two-LP vinyl set with two songs that don't show up on the CD, the bonus DVD, free downloads, and a special book of memorabilia.

The entity known as Hawkwind has struck a deal with the UK's Cherry Red imprint to archive and reissue the band's entire catalog. A new sub-label, Atomhenge Records, will debut in November with a pair of three-CD anthologies, followed by individual-album reissues. The project looks to be in great hands, based on the loving reissues recently dealt by another arm of Cherry Red, the ever-fitting Esoteric Recordings. From Man's mighty, live Maximum Darkness from 1975 to a trio of albums by Dutch prog-rock giants Supersister (a John Peel favorite, signed to his own Dandelion Records and recently featured in the Joy Division bio-pic Control), the label's reissue campaign continues to offer up tasty, eclectic lost documents of a different time. Other recent reissues include vocalist Claire Hammill's ambient albums Voices and Love in the Afternoon from the 1980s and the jazzy, folky, funky London horn collective Satisfaction and its self-titled debut from 1971.


Television Alert


The Tonight Show with Jay Leno welcomes Juliana Hatfield on Monday and B.B. King on Tuesday; The Late Show with David Letterman hosts Solange on Monday and Little Anthony & the Imperials on Tuesday; Larry King Live loosens his suspenders with Sheryl Crow this evening; and Tavis Smiley sits down with LL Cool J tonight and Dave Matthews on Thursday.


New Releases Coming Tuesday, August 26


The American Dollar - A Memory Stream (Yesh Music) cinematic instrumental trio

Backyard Tire Fire - The Places We've Lived (Hyena) witty and mellow return of this Bloomington, Indiana, trio

Emily Bezar - Exchange (DemiVox) fifth solo album from the Potato Eaters vocalist, floating and soaring in the green-forest realm of Kate Bush and Tori Amos

Bigelf - Cheat the Gallows (Custard) these Beatlesque dark-power-poppers shine in the electrifying, spot-on "Money, It's Pure Evil"

Jonatha Brooke - The Works: Words by Woody Guthrie & Music by Jonatha Brooke (Bad Dog Records) with guests Keb' Mo', Glen Phillips and Derek Trucks

Eva Cassidy - Somewhere (Blix Street) collection of songs recorded from 1987 to 1996, highlighted by covers of Aretha Franklin's "Chain of Fools" and Willie Nelson's "Blue Eyes Crying in the Rain"

Cordero - De Donde Eres (Bloodshot) all-Spanish album from The Rock*A*Teens' Chris Verene and his wife, Ani Cordero, turning in the air like a lost David Lynch spaghetti-western at dusk

Datarock - Computer Camp Love (digital-only release) five-song EP with remixes by Devo

Delta Spirit - Ode to Sunshine (Rounder) hot off touring with Clap Your Hands Say Yeah and Cold War Kids, this fresh, infectious debut of rainy-day ditties and suburban blues recalls the Violent Femmes, The Waterboys, and The Kinks

Devil's Slingshot - Clinophobia (Mascot/Megaforce) new supergroup from Tony MacAlpine, Billy Sheehan, and Virgil Donati

The Gabe Dixon Band - The Gabe Dixon Band (Fantasy) gorgeously composed originals from the classical pianist picked by Paul McCartney for his Driving Rain album, in duet with Mindy Smith on the pensive "Further the Sky"

The Game - LAX (Geffen) possible swan song, with producers Scott Storch and Dr. Dre

Electric Touch - Electric Touch (Justice Records) debut from this Austin quartet that spins Beatles melodies, Alice Cooper glam, and British-pop crackle into a captivating experience

The Fantômas/Melvins Big Band - Live From London 2006 (Ipecac) concert DVD featuring an audio commentary by label co-owner Greg Werckman and actor Danny DeVito

Heavy Heavy Low Low - Turtle Nipple & the Toxic Shock (New Weatherman/Ferret Music) featuring a cover of Black Flag's "Wasted"

Hindu Love Gods - Hindu Love Gods (Rhino Encore) reissue from 1990, featuring Peter Buck, Mike Mills, and Bill Berry of R.E.M. backing Warren Zevon through 10 cover selections, from Prince's "Raspberry Beret" and Woody Guthrie's "Vigilante Man" to Robert Johnson's "Walking Blues" and "Traveling Riverside Blues"

B.B. King - One Kind Favor (Geffen) reaching back to the classic sound of the 1950s with a combo featuring drummer Jim Keltner, acoustic-stand-up bassist Nathan East, and pianist Dr. John; a who's-who of blues legends are covered, including Big Bill Broonzy, Lemon Jefferson, John Willie "Shifty" Henry, and Lee Vida Walker

Solange Knowles - SoL-Angel & the Hadley Street Dreams (Geffen) Beyoncé's sister, with producers Pharrell Williams, Cee-Lo, and Mark Ronson

Little Feat - Join the Band (429 Records) with guests Bob Seger, Jimmy Buffett, Dave Matthews, Emmylou Harris, and the Black Crowes' Chris Robinson

Maiysha - This Much Is True (Eusonia) Brooklyn soul with a trip-hop edge, featuring a wild reinterpretation of Peter Gabriel's "Sledgehammer" as a coy, roadhouse-blues come-hither

Midnight Juggernauts - "Into the Galaxy" (Isomorph Records) from Australia, this electronic trio gets a helping hand from remix agents Architecture in Helsinki, Yuksek & Brodinski, Chateau Marmont, and Grandmaster Flash on this CD EP

Mondo Primo - 2FN Hot (Doghouse) with 3D glasses to enjoy the special packaging

Motorhead - Motorizer (Steamhammer) all new, recorded in Dave Grohl's 606 Studios with Cameron Webb

The Pineapple Thief - Tightly Unwound (KScope Records) Radiohead-friendly ballads and funeral pyres by the alter ego of Bruce Soord, formerly of Vulgar Unicorn

Klaus Schulze & Lisa Gerrard - Farscape (Synthetic Symphony/SPV) all-new two-CD collaboration between the Tangerine Dream co-founder and the Dead Can Dance vocalist

Slipknot - All Hope Is Gone (Roadrunner) featuring the single "Psychosocial"

Matthew Sweet - Sunshine Lies (Shout! Factory) reuniting with Susanna Hoffs of The Bangles, Ric Menck, and Richard Lloyd for his 10th studio album, this trippy, power-pop nugget is also available in a two-LP vinyl edition with four bonus songs

Toadies - No Deliverance (Kirtland) first new album in seven years

Tuck & Patti - I Remember You (T&P Records) collection of standards, including "In a Sentimental Mood" and "It Might as Well Be Spring"

Tussle - Cream Cuts (Smalltown Supersound)for warm robots, with guest Alexis Taylor of Hop Chip on "Titan"

Uriah Heep - Wake the Sleeper (Universal) all-new from the British rock legends with new drummer Russell Gilbrook

The Veronicas - Hook Me Up (Sire) domestic CD release of this hit from Australian twin sisters Lisa and Jessica Origliasso, on tour this month with the Jonas Brothers

Woodhands - Heart Attack (Paper Bag) electro-pop duo with a sexy, sweaty, nightmarish tweaker's grind


blog comments powered by Disqus