News Releases - Education & Schools
Written by Iowa Farm Bureau   
Monday, 02 May 2011 10:48

Farm Bureau awards $180,000 to current and future college students

WEST DES MOINES, IOWA – April 29, 2011 – Agriculture is an important part of Iowa’s overall economy and young people continue to see opportunity in ag-related studies as they plan for their future careers.   The Iowa Farm Bureau Federation (IFBF) has awarded $1,000 scholarships for tuition to 180 students who plan to study agriculture at their chosen colleges and universities.  The recipients are pursuing majors in a variety of ag-related disciplines, including agriculture business, engineering, education, technology and animal science.

In addition, Justin Menke of Donnellson in Lee County was named the recipient of the Daniel Johnson Memorial Scholarship, a one-time $500 award for a student from one of eleven counties in southeast Iowa: Keokuk, Washington, Louisa, Muscatine, Wapello, Jefferson, Henry, Des Moines, Davis, Van Buren and Lee.  The scholarship is awarded in honor of Daniel Johnson, a former Iowa Farm Bureau director, farmer, volunteer firefighter and school board president.

“Iowa’s high school and college students truly represent the future of agriculture and Farm Bureau is proud to support them and contribute to their success,” said IFBF Community Resources Director Barb Lykins.

First-time Farm Bureau scholarship recipients include 54 graduating high school seniors or students currently enrolled in their chosen college or university.  Students are eligible to renew the scholarships for up to four years by maintaining a minimum grade point average of 2.5 and by being a student in good standing with the college or university.

Six recipients were selected from each of the nine IFBF districts.  Scholarships were awarded to children of Farm Bureau members who plan to or currently attend an accredited college, university or community college to earn two- or four-year degrees.

First-time applicants were asked to write an essay indicating the contributions they expect to make to agriculture or agribusiness.  They also were selected based on their academic achievement, financial need, community and extracurricular involvement and letters of recommendation.

- 30 -

Editor’s Note:First-time scholarship winners (listed alphabetically by hometown), parent names and future or current college are listed below.


Ackley, Holly Richtsmeier, Marvin and Glenna Richtsmeier, University of Northern Iowa

Albia, Carolyn Clark, Larry and Patricia Clark, Iowa State University

Ames, Erich Hodges, Gregory and Margot Hodges-Tinner, Iowa State University

Aurelia, Audrey Winterhof, Dan and Lynn Winterhof, Simpson College

Boone, Lauren Haglund, Kriss and Crystal Haglund, University of Northern Iowa

Boone, Leah Haglund, Kriss and Crystal Haglund, Iowa State University

Charles City, Ethan Voelker, Brian and Ann Voelker, Iowa State University

Clarion, Samuel Moore, Jim and Barb Moore, Central College

Corning, Erin Beck, Brent and Janice Beck, South Dakota State University

Corwith, Hillary Hilbert, Dan and Karyn Hilbert, University of Northern Iowa

Diagonal, Brett England, Mitchell and Melinda England, Southwestern Community College

Donnellson, Shannon Krogmeier, Ralph and Colleen Krogmeier, Iowa State University

Dundee, Megan Kleve, Dennis and Dawn Kleve, Iowa State University

Durango, Elizabeth Brehm, Steve and Sharon Brehm, University of Wisconsin-Platteville

Essex, Tate Jensen, Blake and Connie Jensen, Wartburg College

Estherville, Holly Enerson, Arvin and Anna Enerson, Dordt College

Farmersburg, Margo Walz, Dean and Melissa Walz, Wartburg College

Fontanelle, Susan Herr, Paul and Virginia Herr, Iowa State University

Guthrie Center, Dustin Clark, Paul and Sheryl Clark, Iowa State University

Hancock, Courtney Harder, Paul and Dawn Harder, Iowa State University

Hornick, Michael Gallagher, Dennis and Lori Gallagher, Dordt College

Keota, Matt Romoser, Robert and Mary Beth Romoser, Iowa State University

Knoxville, Joshua Petersen, James and Julie Petersen, Iowa State University

Knoxville, Zeke Kauzlarich, Rick and Sue Kauzlarich, Iowa State University

LeMars, Brittany Jaminet, Michael and Karen Jaminet, Augustana College

LeMars, Kristen Ahlers, John and Debra Ahlers, Iowa State University

Long Grove, Travis Dierickx, Patrick and Lora Dierickx, Iowa State University

Marshalltown, Michael Burt, Allen and Dee Burt, Iowa State University

Mechanicsville, Sally Weets, Teresa and Steve Weets, Iowa State University

Modale, Blaire Shelton, Jeffrey and Julie Shelton, South Dakota State University

Moulton, Kassi Guinn, Eddie and Melanie Guinn, Iowa State University

New Hampton, Nicholas Winter, Michael and Denice Winter, Iowa State University

New Vienna, Nicholas Hoefler, Brian and Eileen Hoefler, Iowa State University

Newton, Michael Bell, Todd and Jayne Bell, Iowa State University

Ollie, Keaton Philips, Dennis and Sondra Philips, Indian Hills Community College

Osage, Tanner Lewis, Mike and Kim Lewis, Iowa State University

Osceola, Molly Curnes, Kelly and Jill Curnes, Southwestern Community College

Oskaloosa, Samuel Groenenboom, Joel and Laura Groenenboom, Iowa State University

Ottumwa, Ethan Conrad, Randy and Melanie Conrad, Iowa State University

Ottumwa, Jacob Swanson, Donald and Patricia Swanson, Iowa State University

Prescott, Haley Stalcup, Craig and Deena Stalcup, Iowa State University

Rockford, Jennifer Wicks, Terry and Tammy Wicks, Kirkwood Community College

Rockwell City, Bryce Dooley, Jana and Jay Maquire, Iowa State University

Sac City, William Riley, C. Gene and Jenny Riley, Iowa State University

Schleswig, Christina Riessen, Harry and Kay Riessen, Iowa State University

Sibley, Kevin Berkland, Daniel and Loretta Berkland, Iowa State University

Spragueville, Austin Lane, Kenneth and Karen Lane, Iowa State University

Storm Lake, Austin Ehlers, Brent and Carol Ehlers, Iowa State University

Strawberry Point, Ethan Knight, Bill and Lorri Knight, Iowa State University

Swea City, Genna Valvick, Arlyn and Annette Valvick, Northwestern College

Tama, Deanna Bidwell, Dale and Dianne Bidwell, Iowa State University

Van Horne, Evan Brehm, Joe and Sheryl Brehm, Iowa State University

Walcott, Austin Kessler, Jim and Ann Kessler, Iowa State University

Wheatland, Micah Klahn, Sandra Klahn and the late James Klahn, University of Wisconsin-Platteville

blog comments powered by Disqus