16 Iowa State Education Association members earn National Board Certification Print
News Releases - Education & Schools
Written by readMedia   
Monday, 20 December 2010 13:18

Lifelong learning continues for teachers receiving national certification

DES MOINES, IA (12/20/2010)(readMedia)-- Sixteen Iowa State Education Association (ISEA) members have received the 2010 National Board Certification, the highest recognition a teacher can receive in the profession. The total number of Iowans who have received the NBCT ranking stands at 664.

Nationwide, approximately 91,000 teachers have been NBCT certified and Iowa's total shows a 2.9 percent increase over last year.

National Board Certification (NBC) allows teachers to be recognized for their highly accomplished teaching practices and is earned through demonstrating teaching expertise using a voluntary process established by the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards (NBPTS). The process typically takes one to three years to complete. While state licensing systems set basic requirements to teach in each state, NBCTs have successfully demonstrated advanced teaching knowledge, skills, and practices.

"I know that National Board Certification is a tough program which is why we're especially proud of our members who put forth the effort to improve their skills and professional abilities," said ISEA Vice-President, and Nationally Board Certified educator, Tammy Wawro. "Congratulations to the 16 ISEA members for going the extra mile. Iowa's kids benefit the most from this certification process. These teachers are lifelong learners who continue to improve their skills and set a wonderful example for their students."

Iowa teachers who seek National Board Certification can take advantage of ISEA's candidate support program, including courses especially designed to help NBC candidates succeed.

"Education is a fast-paced and growing profession. It takes a lot of dedication and hard work, and we have the best of the best here in Iowa," Wawro added.

Following is a list of the ISEA members who received National Board Certification in 2010:

Cedar Rapids: Ann Timm, Harding Middle School; Traci Maxted, Thomas Jefforson High School; and John Pauly, Harding Middle School

Delmar: Cassie Dunlavey, Central Middle School

Boone: Deborah Fritcher, Ames Middle School

Davenport: Heather Cousins, North High School

Garwin: Jeffrey Teske, GMG Secondary School

Shell Rock: Jennifer Miller, North Butler Middle School

Osage: Kari Brown, Osage Middle School

St. Ansgar: Meg Schutjer, Osage Middle School

Estherville: Lynn Trompeter, Estherville Lincoln Central Middle School

Solon: Mary Holubar, Praire Heights Elementary School

Mt. Vernon: Richard Scearce, Mount Vernon High School

Monticello: Robyn Ponder, Carpenter Elementary School

Vinton: Sharla Wrage, Tilford Elementary

Bettendorf: Susan Jones-Miller, Bettendorf High School

-- 30 –

blog comments powered by Disqus