71 Iowa Legislators Endorse Braley for Senate Print
News Releases - Politics & Elections
Written by Jeff Link   
Wednesday, 03 April 2013 10:07
DES MOINES, IA – 71 Democratic members of the Iowa legislature have announced their formal endorsement of Bruce Braley for Senate.  45 Iowa House Democrats are endorsing Braley today, as are all 26 Iowa Senate Democrats, including Iowa Senate Majority Leader Michael Gronstal and President Pam Jochum.
Braley announced in February that he had formed a committee to run for the Senate seat being vacated by retiring Sen. Tom Harkin.
Sen. Michael Gronstal (D-Pottawattamie) said, “I’m proud to endorse Bruce Braley today.  Iowans are fortunate to have Bruce in their corner fighting for them in Congress, and he’ll do even more in the Senate.  From passing polices that strengthen the middle class to helping small businesses, Bruce works so hard to get things done for Iowa because he’s never forgotten where he’s come from.”
Rep. Kirsten Running-Marquardt (D-Linn) said, “Today is a great day for Iowa. I proudly stand with many of my colleagues and endorse Bruce Braley. Bruce has a proven track record of fighting for the middle class, standing up for veterans and working to make college affordable. He is one of us and Iowa needs him in the US Senate.”
Braley said, “I’m honored by this outpouring of support.  I’ve launched this campaign because Iowans deserve a Senator who will work hard every day to rebuild the middle class, create economic opportunity, and use taxpayer money more wisely.  The endorsements of 71 Iowa legislators today is a big boost to our campaign and I’ll rely on all of them to help build our growing grassroots organization in the months ahead.”
In recent weeks, momentum has continued to build behind Braley’s Senate campaign.  On Monday, Braley announced that he has raised $1 million for his Senate campaign since Harkin announced his retirement.  In February, Rep. Dave Loebsack (IA-02) and former Rep. Leonard Boswell endorsed Braley for Senate.  Last week, Iowa Attorney General Tom Miller and Treasurer Michael Fitzgerald announced their endorsement.  And eight labor organizations have endorsed Braley: State Association of Letter Carriers, the Iowa Postal Workers Union, the Bricklayers and Allied Craftworkers Local 3 Iowa Union, UAW Region 4, SEIU Iowa - Local 199, AFSCME Iowa Council 61, the Iowa State Council of Machinists, and the Great Plains Laborers’ District Council.
A full list of the legislators announcing their endorsement today can be found below:

Name County Name County
Deb Berry Black Hawk
Jeff Danielson Black Hawk
Anesa Kajtazovic Black Hawk
Bill Dotzler Black Hawk
Bob Kressig Black Hawk
Amanda Ragan Cerro Gordo
Sharon Steckman Cerro Gordo
Rita Hart Clinton
Patti Ruff Clayton
Tom Courtney Des Moines
Roger Thomas Clayton
Pam Jochum Dubuque
Mary Wolfe Clinton
Brian Schoenjahn Fayette
Daniel Muhlbauer Crawford
Rich Taylor Henry
Dennis Cohoon Des Moines
Mary Jo Wilhelm Howard
Nancy Dunkel Dubuque
Tod Bowman Jackson
Charles Isenhart Dubuque
Dennis Black Jasper
Bruce Bearinger Fayette
Joe Bolkcom Johnson
Todd Prichard Floyd
Bob Dvorsky Johnson
Daniel Kelley Jasper
Robert Hogg Linn
Curtis Hanson Jefferson
Wally Horn Linn
Dave Jacoby Johnson
Liz Mathis Linn
Vicki Lensing Johnson
Steve Sodders Marshall
Mary Mascher Johnson
Chris Brase Muscatine
Sally Stutsman Johnson
Dick Dearden Polk
Jerry Kearns Lee
Jack Hatch Polk
Art Staed Linn
Matt McCoy Polk
Daniel Lundby Linn
Janet Peterson Polk
Tyler Olson Linn
Michael Gronstal Pottawattamie
Kirsten Running-Marquardt
Joe Seng Scott
Todd Taylor Linn
Herman Quirmbach Story
Mark Smith Marshall
Daryl Beall Webster
Ako Abdul-Samad Polk
Marti Anderson Polk
Bruce Hunter Polk
John Forbes Polk
Ruth Ann Gaines Polk
Jo Oldson Polk
Rick Olson Polk
Joe Riding Polk
Jim Lykam Scott
Phyllis Thede Scott
Cindy Winckler Scott
Frank Wood Scott
Lisa Heddens Story
Beth Wessel-Kroeschell Story
Mary Gaskill Wapello
Scott Ourth Warren
Helen Miller Webster
Dave Dawson Woodbury
Chris Hall Woodbury
# # #

blog comments powered by Disqus