Ascentra Credit Union Awards $10,000 in Scholarships PDF Print E-mail
News Releases - Stage & Theatre
Written by Alvaro Macias   
Friday, 23 May 2014 14:08

Ten Winners Announced

BETTENDORF – A total of $10,000 was given to area students to help pay for their college costs as part of the Ascentra Credit Union Scholarship Competition.  There were five $1,000 scholarships available for high school students planning to enter college.  The other five $1,000 scholarships were for members age 19 or over, considered non-traditional or continuing education students. This year Ascentra expanded the number of scholarship recipients from two to ten to better serve our growing membership.

The high school scholarship winners include:

·        Jacob Logan, Bettendorf, Iowa

·        Madison Temperly, Eldridge, Iowa

·        Caitlin Thom, Bettendorf, Iowa

·        Lauren Pittman, Clinton, Iowa

·        Taylor Trumbo, Davenport, Iowa

The non-traditional or continuing education winners include:

·        Micaela Terronez, East Moline, Illinois

·        Hailey Oepping, Muscatine, Iowa

·        Maddison Theisen, LeClaire, Iowa

·        Jessica Tucker, Cleveland, Illinois

·        Darcey Jansen, Eldridge, Iowa

Photos and more information about the winners can be found at  All entries are judged on their essay, resume, awards, extracurricular activities, volunteer services and work experience.  The competition is announced every October with the deadline in March of the following year. Official rules may be picked up at any of our branches or found online at

Awarding a total of $10,000 in scholarships is another way Ascentra Credit Union recognizes that financial planning and education is essential to lifetime success for our members and community.


About us:


.  Follow Ascentra on Facebook and on Twitter @ascentra.

blog comments powered by Disqus

Comments (0)Add Comment

Write comment
You must be logged in to post a comment. Please register if you do not have an account yet.