Blackhawk Hills Holds Annual Meeting PDF Print E-mail
News Releases - General Info
Written by Julie Jacobs   
Tuesday, 05 June 2012 12:50

ROCK FALLS, IL – BlackhawkHills Resource Conservation and Development held its annual meeting on May 24, 2012 at the Freeport Country Club. The meeting was open to the public and featured Lynn Feaver of Prospering Together as the speaker.

Two awards were presented at the meeting. The 2012 Volunteer of the Year award was presented to Ron Colson, Sam Newton, and William Tonne for their hard work and dedication to the Northwest Illinois Broadband Opportunities Program. The 2012 Carson DeJarnatt Economic Development Award was presented to Prospering Together and was accepted by Lynn Feaver, Chuck Moen, Della Moen, and Sam Newton of Stephenson County.

Blackhawk Hills would like to recognize the following changes to the council. Ron Colson was elected as President. He previously served as Vice President for the past three years. William Tonne accepted the position of Vice President. He previously served as President for the past three years.

About the Volunteer of the Year Award

This award is presented annually to the person or persons who have shown outstanding dedication to a project or initiative within the six-county region. This award has been presented each year since 1976.

About the Carson DeJarnatt Economic Development Award

The Carson DeJarnatt Economic Development Award is given to a person, organization, or initiative that demonstrates commitment to regional economic development. The award’s namesake, Carson DeJarnatt, joined the Blackhawk Hills council as the Whiteside County Board representative in 1987. He was instrumental in the establishment of the Blackhawk Hills’ Economic Development District in 1992. The council of Blackhawk Hills created the economic development award in his honor after his passing in 1995.

About Blackhawk Hills RC&D

Blackhawk Hills RC&D is a not-for-profit corporation based in Rock Falls, IL, that serves Carroll, Jo Daviess, Lee, Ogle, Stephenson, and Whiteside counties in northwest Illinois.  Blackhawk Hills RC&D’s services include community planning, development assistance, natural resources conservation and protection support, and grant writing and administration. Blackhawk Hills RC&D is sponsored by local county boards and Soil and Water Conservation Districts and is overseen by an 18-member council, consisting of three representatives from each of the six counties.

Questions about Blackhawk Hills may be directed to Julie Jacobs at (815) 625-3854 or This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it .


blog comments powered by Disqus

Comments (0)Add Comment

Write comment
You must be logged in to post a comment. Please register if you do not have an account yet.