Branstad, Reynolds, Allen announce Governor’s STEM Regional Advisory Boards Appointments PDF Print E-mail
News Releases - Science & Technology
Written by Office of Governor Terry Branstad   
Monday, 06 August 2012 08:56

(DES MOINES) – Gov. Terry Branstad and co-chairs of the Governor’s STEM Advisory Council, Lt. Gov. Kim Reynolds and University of Northern Iowa President Ben Allen, today announced the latest appointments for the six regional STEM network hubs advisory boards.


“The members of the STEM Regional Advisory Boards will serve as boots on the ground and be the most entrenched members of the STEM initiative in their region of the Iowa. I am confident that the appointees will provide leadership and assistance in launching the STEM initiative all across the state,” said Reynolds.


The appointments are as follows:


STEM Advisory Council – North Central Regional

Robin Anderson, Mason City

Emily Banks, McCallsburg

Dr. Paul Bartelt, Forest City

Cheryl Carruthers, Bussey

Dr. Kelly Faga, Iowa Falls

Dr. Douglas Jacobson, Ames

Chad Kuhlers, Clear Lake

Dr. Adah Leshem, Ames

Corey Metzger, Ames

Ben Petty, Conrad

Sarah Rosenblum, Marshalltown

Camille Sloan Schroeder, Boone

Christine Sturgeon, Gowrie

Jan Westrum, Boone

Richard Wrage, Boone


STEM Advisory Council – Northeast Regional

Cheryl Beatty, Winthrop

Dr. Mark Biermann, Waverly

James Brown, Jr., Cedar Falls

Dr. Samuel Dosumu, Waterloo

Scott Fortune, Cresco

Dr. Scott Greenhalgh, Cedar Falls

Sarah Harris, Dubuque

Dr. Chad Heinzel, Cedar Falls

John Hjelle, Decorah

Kim Kerian, Cresco

Jason Martin-Hiner, Strawberry Point

Dr. Wendy Mihm-Herold, Fort Atkinson

Marcia Powell, Strawberry Point

Michelle Temeyer, Waterloo

Mark Wagner, Dubuque


STEM Advisory Council – Northwest Regional

Shaun Arneson, Spirit Lake

Jerry Chizek, Manson

Jim Christensen, Holstein

Marcella Frevert, Emmetsburg

Linda Gray, Everly

Cheryl Heronemus, Alton

Walter Johnson, Sioux City

Dr. Jasper Lesage, Sioux Center

Rick Reinking, Spirit Lake

Debora Robertson, Sioux City

Mary Trent, Carroll

Gerald Van Roekel, Orange City

Wade Weber, Spirit Lake

Ryan Welsh, Sioux Falls, South Dakota

Mark Zabawa, Spencer


STEM Advisory Council – South Central Regional

Mary Bontrager, Cumming

William Burch, Mystic

Dr. Dennis Byron, Urbandale

John Chai, Norwalk

Tej Dhawan, Grimes

Jahna Duda, Johnston

Lowell Ernst, Pella

Dr. Kari Hensen, Ankeny

Rodney Henshaw, Des Moines

Rob Kleinow, Grimes

Carol LaFaver, Osceola

Dr. Randall McCaulley, Perry

Lyn Schneider, Urbandale

Dr. Lee Sharpe, Grinnell

Igor Takacs, Leon


STEM Advisory Council – Southeast Regional

Patrick Barnes, Bettendorf

Kimberly Beals, Marion

Timothy Bower, Muscatine

Bryan Braack, Eldridge

Joseph Crozier, Robins

Susan Dunek, Keokuk

Linda Fischer, Vinton

Dennis Hinkle, Burlington

Dr. Roger Johanson, Lisbon

Michael Lazere, Ames

Craig Martinson, Central City

Deborah Stanton, Washington

John Tursi, Cedar Rapids

Jacqueline Williams, Iowa City

DaLayne Williamson, Iowa City


STEM Advisory Council – Southwest Regional

Dr. Jane Bradley, West Des Moines

Dr. Barbara Crittenden, Creston

Barbara DeVore, Osceola

Jill Euken, Lewis

Dr. David Evans, Newell

Dr. Alan Ladd, Atlantic

Thomas Lesan, Creston

Kathi Most, Red Oak

Dr. Lane Plugge, Council Bluffs

Christopher Russell, Omaha, Nebraska

Brandi Shay, Tingley

Doug Sobotka, Diagonal

Adam Triggs, Mount Ayr


The six regional network hubs are the first major initiative of the new Governor’s Science, Technology, Engineering and Math Advisory Council, a public-private partnership, whose overarching goal is to boost student achievement in science, technology, engineering and math (STEM) education and promote STEM economic development.

The six regional boards are in congruence with the signing of Senate File 2321, Section 12. Members will serve at the pleasure of the governor. Each board will have a maximum of 15 members.


# # #
blog comments powered by Disqus

Comments (0)Add Comment

Write comment
You must be logged in to post a comment. Please register if you do not have an account yet.