Branstad, Reynolds host Iowa Teacher & Principal Leadership Symposium PDF Print E-mail
News Releases - Education & Schools
Written by Office of the Governor of the State of Iowa   
Tuesday, 05 August 2014 08:26

Sold-out event to continue conversation about providing Iowa’s children with a world-class education

(DES MOINES) – Gov. Terry Branstad and Lt. Gov. Kim Reynolds today are hosting the second Iowa Teacher and Principal Leadership Symposium at the FFA Enrichment Center at Des Moines Area Community College in Ankeny. The purpose of the event, which is sold out, is continuing the conversation about how to give Iowa children a world-class education.  More than 450 educators, parents, legislators, school board members and others are expected to attend.


“Iowa’s education system must keep pace with the demands of a knowledge-based, global workforce,” said Branstad. “Iowa’s new Teacher Leadership and Compensation System will create the capacity to do that by better utilizing the expertise of top teachers to fine tune instruction for individual students. We’ll learn more from symposium speakers about how to make the most of this new approach to instructional leadership. ”

Iowa is the first state to launch a teacher leadership system of this magnitude, with every school district having the option of participating over the next three years. The goal is for 25 percent of highly qualified teachers to take on new leadership roles, such as instructional coaches and mentors, to improve instruction and raise student achievement. When fully phased in during the 2016-17 school year, the Iowa Teacher Leadership and Compensation System is estimated to cost $150 million annually.

“Nothing inside schools has a bigger impact on learning than highly effective teaching,” said Reynolds. “Iowa has many first-rate teachers, and we are looking forward during the symposium to learning more about exciting developments in teacher leadership in Iowa and beyond.”

Featured symposium speakers include Vivien Stewart from the Asia Society, Ee-Ling Low from the National Institute of Education in Singapore, Barnett Berry from the Center for Teaching Quality, Iowa 2014 Teacher of the Year Jane Schmidt and Iowa Secondary Principal of the Year Aiddy Phomvisay. Also featured are Iowa’s first 39 school districts to launch the state’s new Teacher Leadership and Compensation System; two Iowa school districts that started teacher leadership systems with a federal grant; and a student panel on the difference great teaching makes.

Participants, attendees and those wishing to follow the symposium are encouraged to use the #IAEdLeaders hashtag on social media. For more information about the symposium:


blog comments powered by Disqus

Comments (0)Add Comment

Write comment
You must be logged in to post a comment. Please register if you do not have an account yet.