Education & Schools
Loebsack Helps Lead Fight to Keep Student Loan Rates from Doubling PDF Print E-mail
News Releases - Education & Schools
Written by Vonnie Hampel   
Wednesday, 10 April 2013 09:03

Washington, D.C. – Congressman Dave Loebsack today joined Rep. Joe Courtney (CT-02) in introducing legislation that will keep student loan interest rates at 3.4 percent for an additional two years.  On June 1, 2013, interest rates on student loans are set to double to 6.8 percent from 3.4 percent if Congress does not act.  Last year, as the only member of the Iowa delegation to serve on the House Education and the Workforce Committee, which has jurisdiction over this legislation, Loebsack helped lead the fight to ensure students did not see a similar raise in interest rates.

“I grew up in poverty, and I would not have been able to attend college and have such amazing opportunities without student aid,” said Loebsack.  “At a time when middle class and working families are still struggling, we should not pull the rug out from under them and saddle them with additional debt.  Education is critical to securing a good job and economic security for families, and educating our future workforce is key to boosting our economy.”

As a member of the House Education and the Workforce Committee, Loebsack has championed numerous pieces of legislation to increase access to higher education, including:

·         College Cost Reduction and Access Act (CCRAA) Loebsack helped craft and pass this legislation, which makes college more affordable and accessible for all Iowans by increasing the maximum Pell Grant scholarship and expanding eligibility;

·         Student Aid and Fiscal Responsibility Act Loebsack was a cosponsor of this bill, which will save American taxpayers $61 billion by making the student loan process more efficient.  The bill further expanded the maximum Pell Grant available from $5,550 in 2010 to $5,975 in 2017, granting Iowa students more than $291 million for higher education. This bill was the largest single investment in student aid in America’s history, and will make college more accessible, transform the way student loan programs operate and strengthens community colleges.


Rivermont Collegiate 3rd Quarter Honor Roll PDF Print E-mail
News Releases - Education & Schools
Written by Brittany Marietta   
Wednesday, 10 April 2013 09:02

Middle School (Grades 6-8)

High Honors (All grades B+ or higher or B or higher for courses designated as Upper School level)

Elizabeth Decker

Clayton Douglas

Faith Douglas

Giavanna Eckhardt

Jessica Elliott

Andrea Gamble

Olivia Gamble

Aislinn Geedey

Mahum Haque

Megan Lindle

Naina Ninan

Benjamin Nordick

Manasa Pagadala

Elizabeth Paxton

Emilia Porubcin

Collin Smith

Honors (All grades B- or higher or C+ or higher for courses designated as Upper School level)

Genevieve Solange Bolger

Adam Chamberlain

Hema Chimpidi

Shivani Ganesh

Azariah Hughes

Molly Lewis

Mary Aisling McDowell

Maryam Rasheed

Lauren Schroeder

Natalie Springborn

Nikhil Wagher

Jack Westphal


Upper School (Grades 9-12)

Headmaster’s List (GPA 3.85-4.00)

Adam Dada

Anastasia Eganova

Summer Lawrence

Victoria Mbakwe

Amanda McVey

Grace Moran

Michal Porubcin

Shravya Pothula

Kelsey Qu

Suhas Seshadri

Alexander Skillin

Loring Telleen

Distinction (GPA 3.50-3.84)

Vishal Bobba

Rebecca Cupp

Christian Elliott

Tejasvi Kotte

Margaret Martens

Nell Meier

Darsani Reddy

MingSui Tang

Merit (GPA 3.00-3.49)

Jennah Davison

Jesus Fuentes

Alejandra Martinez

Nathan McVey

Hayley Moran

Alexis Shaheen

Ashish Tadepalli

News Releases - Education & Schools
Written by Linda Martin   
Wednesday, 10 April 2013 09:00
Thirteen Moline elementary school students have been chosen to receive an award from the Hazel F. Van Arsdale Memorial Scholarship Fund administered through The Moline Foundation.

The 13 elementary students are: Mia Burrill, Madison Rhea, Adriana Hernandez, Nicole Ellis, Derek Burgin, Carissa Gonzalez, Kate Schaechter, Madelaine Jacobs, Manuela Chavez, Kayla Veto, Allison Van, Izabel Jernigan and Lillian Driscoll.

The fund was started in honor and memory of Hazel F. Van Arsdale to perpetuate the importance of music in elementary and secondary education. The fund supports two types of annual awards. One award is given to selected elementary students, and one scholarship is given to a high school senior. The 13 elementary students were chosen by an individual school committee made up of teachers and music professionals through The Moline Foundation.

Hazel Van Arsdale was a public school teacher for 36 years. She was known for her strict, but fun, manner of bringing music into the classroom. She made sure all of her students knew every verse of all of our patriotic hymns, and wanted them to strengthen their music interest beyond elementary school. A fund was established and is now administered through The Moline Foundation’s scholarship program.

Founded in 1953, The Moline Foundation is a community-based, non-profit organization which provides grants to health, human services, education, community development, the arts, and other charitable organizations which benefit the citizens of the Quad City region. The Moline Foundation receives and administers charitable gifts and has current assets of approximately $17 million. For more information contact Executive Director Joy Boruff at (309) 736-3800 or visit The Moline Foundation Web site at


Branstad issues statement on Regents nominees PDF Print E-mail
News Releases - Education & Schools
Written by Tim Albrecht   
Wednesday, 10 April 2013 08:28

(DES MOINES) – Gov. Branstad issued the following statement upon learning Craig Lang and Robert Cramer did not receive the required number of votes in the Iowa Senate to serve on the Iowa Board of Regents:

“I am deeply disappointed that most Senate Democrats cast their votes against Robert Cramer and Craig Lang.

“Both Robert and Craig answered the call to public service, and they both deserved the opportunity to serve on the Board of Regents. Craig Lang showed great leadership while on the Board of Regents and Robert Cramer brought unique experience in the construction industry.

“I am greatly disappointed that these two fine individuals were treated in such a shabby manner.”


DeWitt's Erin McDonnell Inducted into Phi Beta Kappa at Cornell College PDF Print E-mail
News Releases - Education & Schools
Written by Jamie Kelly   
Monday, 08 April 2013 14:38

MOUNT VERNON, IA (04/08/2013)(readMedia)-- Erin McDonnell of DeWitt was one of 17 Cornell College students inducted into Phi Beta Kappa, the country's oldest and most prestigious academic honor society.

These students will have their names added to the permanent plaque in Cole Library listing all members elected to Cornell's chapter.

Election is based upon good character and a distinguished record of performance in courses that demonstrate a broad exposure to the liberal arts, i.e., the fine arts, humanities, languages, natural sciences and mathematics, and social sciences, as well as substantive work in areas outside the major. Phi Beta Kappa considers members of the top 15 percent of the senior class and the top five percent of the junior class. You can learn more about the Cornell chapter of Phi Beta Kappa here.

One of the 40 "Colleges That Change Lives," Cornell College in Mount Vernon, Iowa, is a national liberal arts college with a distinctive One Course At A Time (OCAAT) academic calendar. The OCAAT schedule provides students with intellectual immersion, academic focus, and unique freedom to shed the confines of the traditional classroom to study off-campus, pursue research, or accept an internship-all without missing out on other classes. Founded in 1853, the college's entire hilltop campus is listed on the National Register of Historic Places.

<< Start < Prev 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 Next > End >>

Page 209 of 420