Education & Schools
Cornelius Graduates from CMU in Union PDF Print E-mail
News Releases - Education & Schools
Written by Kent Propst   
Thursday, 07 August 2014 07:53

FAYETTE, MO (08/06/2014)(readMedia)-- Stefanie Cornelius, of Bettendorf, has graduated from Central Methodist University with a Master of Science in Nursing according to CMU President Roger Drake.

Cornelius was one of approximately 115 CMU students who participated in Commencement exercises on July 29 in Union.

Since its founding in 1854, CMU has evolved into a university that confers master's, bachelor's and associate's degrees through programming on its main campus in Fayette, Mo., and through extension sites located across Missouri and online.

News Releases - Education & Schools
Written by Kari Knutson   
Wednesday, 06 August 2014 14:13

MADISON (August 5, 2014) - Approximately 6,500 students received degrees during the University of Wisconsin-Madison's May 17, 2014 spring commencement ceremony.

Among the graduates are Alexia Nicole Zatarain, Doctor of Law (Juris Doctor) from Davenport and William Clarence Nunn, Master of Business Administration - Business General Management from Rock Island.

Jon Huntsman, Jr. delivered the charge to graduates at the ceremony, which was held at Camp Randall Stadium

For more information about UW-Madison commencement, visit Here are the degree recipients from your area:


Branstad, Reynolds host Iowa Teacher & Principal Leadership Symposium PDF Print E-mail
News Releases - Education & Schools
Written by Office of the Governor of the State of Iowa   
Tuesday, 05 August 2014 08:26

Sold-out event to continue conversation about providing Iowa’s children with a world-class education

(DES MOINES) – Gov. Terry Branstad and Lt. Gov. Kim Reynolds today are hosting the second Iowa Teacher and Principal Leadership Symposium at the FFA Enrichment Center at Des Moines Area Community College in Ankeny. The purpose of the event, which is sold out, is continuing the conversation about how to give Iowa children a world-class education.  More than 450 educators, parents, legislators, school board members and others are expected to attend.


“Iowa’s education system must keep pace with the demands of a knowledge-based, global workforce,” said Branstad. “Iowa’s new Teacher Leadership and Compensation System will create the capacity to do that by better utilizing the expertise of top teachers to fine tune instruction for individual students. We’ll learn more from symposium speakers about how to make the most of this new approach to instructional leadership. ”

Iowa is the first state to launch a teacher leadership system of this magnitude, with every school district having the option of participating over the next three years. The goal is for 25 percent of highly qualified teachers to take on new leadership roles, such as instructional coaches and mentors, to improve instruction and raise student achievement. When fully phased in during the 2016-17 school year, the Iowa Teacher Leadership and Compensation System is estimated to cost $150 million annually.

“Nothing inside schools has a bigger impact on learning than highly effective teaching,” said Reynolds. “Iowa has many first-rate teachers, and we are looking forward during the symposium to learning more about exciting developments in teacher leadership in Iowa and beyond.”

Featured symposium speakers include Vivien Stewart from the Asia Society, Ee-Ling Low from the National Institute of Education in Singapore, Barnett Berry from the Center for Teaching Quality, Iowa 2014 Teacher of the Year Jane Schmidt and Iowa Secondary Principal of the Year Aiddy Phomvisay. Also featured are Iowa’s first 39 school districts to launch the state’s new Teacher Leadership and Compensation System; two Iowa school districts that started teacher leadership systems with a federal grant; and a student panel on the difference great teaching makes.

Participants, attendees and those wishing to follow the symposium are encouraged to use the #IAEdLeaders hashtag on social media. For more information about the symposium:



Kaitlyn Teager Named to Eastern Illinois University's Deans' List PDF Print E-mail
News Releases - Education & Schools
Written by Vicki Shaw-Woodard   
Friday, 01 August 2014 12:30

CHARLESTON, IL (08/01/2014)(readMedia)-- Kaitlyn Teager of East Moline, IL was one of more than 990 undergraduate students named to Eastern Illinois University's Spring 2014 Deans' List.

The Deans' List at EIU recognizes undergraduates with a declared major whose academic performance has been excellent. Students who achieve a GPA of 3.80 to 4.00 (on a 4.00 scale) while completing a minimum of 12 graded semester hours, excluding credit/no credit grades, in a fall or spring semester will be named to the Deans' List.

Please join us in congratulating Kaitlyn on this achievement!

Located in Charleston, IL, Eastern Illinois University has a rich tradition of preparing students to accomplish their life goals through a great combination of quality academics and personal relationships. Consistently ranked in the top third of Midwest universities in its class by U.S. News and World Report, Eastern has earned its reputation by offering a wide variety of undergraduate and graduate programs taught by an experienced and caring faculty. In addition to reasonable tuition, fees, and room and board rates, Eastern offers a textbook rental system, saving the average student hundreds of dollars per semester.

Saint Mary's College Announces Spring 2014 Semester Dean's List PDF Print E-mail
News Releases - Education & Schools
Written by Zara Osterman   
Friday, 01 August 2014 08:36

NOTRE DAME, IN (07/31/2014)(readMedia)-- Local students named to the Saint Mary's College spring 2014 semester Dean's List include Katherine Kautz of Bettendorf and Caitlin Poster of Davenport.

About Saint Mary's College: Saint Mary's College, Notre Dame, IN, is a four-year, Catholic, residential, women's liberal arts college offering five bachelor's degrees and more than 30 major areas of study, such as business, nursing, art, chemistry, and social work. The College's single-gender environment has been proven, in study after study, to foster confidence, ethical leadership, and strong academic success. Saint Mary's College ranks 76 among the 248 "Best National Liberal Arts Colleges" for 2014 published by U.S. News and World Report. Founded in 1844 by the Sisters of the Holy Cross, Saint Mary's College's mission is to educate women and prepare them for postgraduate success whether it's a first job, graduate school, or postgraduate service.

<< Start < Prev 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 Next > End >>

Page 15 of 380