Education & Schools
2015 Robert D. Blue Scholarship Application is Available Online PDF Print E-mail
News Releases - Education & Schools
Written by Karen Austin   
Tuesday, 20 January 2015 15:04

DES MOINES, IA (01/20/2015)(readMedia)-- State Treasurer Michael L. Fitzgerald announced today that the application for the 2015 Robert D. Blue Scholarship is available online at Any graduates of an Iowa high school who plan to attend college in Iowa for the 2015-2016 school year are eligible to apply.

Awards are based on financial need, an original essay, academic achievement and written recommendations. "These scholarships not only help Iowa students financially, but also honor the achievements and potential of the young people of our state," Fitzgerald stated. "Last year, two $1,000 scholarships and two $500 scholarships were awarded to four outstanding students. Each of the recipients represents a different community from across our state and all of them went on to attend a different Iowa college or university."

The Iowa Centennial Memorial Foundation awards the Robert D. Blue Scholarship to Iowa students attending college in Iowa. Governor Blue created the Foundation in 1949 to commemorate the one hundredth anniversary of Iowa's acceptance into the union. At that time, a scholarship fund was established to encourage the youth of the state to attend Iowa's fine colleges and universities. In 1990, the Foundation officially named the scholarship to honor the late Governor Blue.

Robert D. Blue Scholarship applications are only accepted online through May 10 at The winners will be announced during the summer. Those who would like more information on the Robert D. Blue Scholarship should visit the website, or call the treasurer's office at (515) 242-5270.


Naomi Iltis recognized for 2014 fall term honors PDF Print E-mail
News Releases - Education & Schools
Written by Jean Suggitt   
Monday, 19 January 2015 15:16

SEWARD, NE (01/16/2015)(readMedia)-- Concordia University, Nebraska named 251 students to its honors list for the fall 2014 semester.

Students on the honors list include:

Naomi Iltis, a senior from Le Claire, Iowa

The top 25 percent of undergraduate students who complete at least 12 credit hours, receive no failing grades in the semester and earn a semester GPA of at least 3.5 qualify for the honors list.

About Concordia University, Nebraska

Concordia University, Nebraska, founded in 1894, is a fully accredited, coeducational university located in Seward, Nebraska, that currently serves more than 2,300 students. Concordia offers more than 50 professional and liberal arts programs in an excellent academic and Christ-centered community that equips men and women for lives of learning, service and leadership in the church and world. For more information, visit

News Releases - Education & Schools
Written by Travis Miles   
Monday, 19 January 2015 15:07

KIRKSVILLE, Mo. (January 16, 2015) - Truman State University has released the Fall 2014 Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs' List. To qualify for this list, an undergraduate student must attain a semester 3.50-3.99 grade point average and must complete 12 semester hours of credit.

Area students include Caitlin Staver of Bettendorf (Psychology and Biology); Allison Fullercamp (Exercise Science), Scott McKillip (Business Administration) and Jennifer Riefe (Communication Disorders), all of Davenport; and Simone Collins of Rock Island (Psychology).

TSU has also released the Fall 2014 President's List. To qualify for this list, an undergraduate student must attain a semester 4.0 grade point average and must complete 12 semester hours of credit.

Area students include Alexandria Avila (Agricultural Science), William Daniel (Accounting), Kayleen Green (History, Pre-Education/Secondary), and Chelsea Wagschal (French, Pre-Education/Secondary), all of Davenport.

Founded in 1867, Truman is Missouri's highly selective public liberal arts and sciences university. Truman has the highest graduation rate among the state's public colleges and universities and approximately 50 percent of Truman students pursue an advanced degree immediately upon graduating. U.S. News & World Report has rated Truman as the No. 1 public university in the Midwest region for 18 consecutive years. Washington Monthly recognized the school as the No. 2 master's university in the nation and Kiplinger's Personal Finance named Truman as one of the 100 Best College Values for 2015.

News Releases - Education & Schools
Written by Liz Dierolf   
Friday, 16 January 2015 15:15
Recognizing a growing need, Skip-a-Long Child Development Services has made an investment in our community’s families and has expanded our Moline child care center to include two additional classrooms!
Why is the center adding more classrooms?

The Moline Skip-a-Long child care center has noticed a significant increase in the need for care of 18-36 month old children, and has made this investment as part of the program’s mission to make sure ALL children in the Quad Cities area have a great start to being prepared for success in school and in life.

Thanks to the hard work of Estes Construction and Koehler Electric, the project broke ground at the end of July, 2014 and was completed and began serving children in December, 2014!

Please join us for a ribbon-cutting ceremony and open house to tour our new classrooms and see the children enjoying their new learning environment! Opportunities for photos and video of our center’s children in the classrooms will be available. Our Chief Executive Officer – Marcy Mendenhall and our center’s director – Julie Allen will be available for comments.

WHAT: Open House and Chamber of Commerce Ribbon-Cutting
WHERE: Skip-a-Long Child Development Services – 4800 60th St., Moline, IL
WHEN: Tuesday, January 27th, 2015
TIME: Open House – 9:00am to 11:00am
10:00am - Remarks by: Scott Raes – Mayor of Moline
Teresa Woodworth – Skip-a-Long Board Chair
Chamber of Commerce Ribbon-Cutting

Rivermont Collegiate 2nd Quarter Honor Roll PDF Print E-mail
News Releases - Education & Schools
Written by Jill Weitzel   
Friday, 16 January 2015 15:10

Congratulations to the following students who have made the Rivermont Collegiate 2nd Quarter Honor Roll!


Middle School (Grades 6-8)


High Honors (All grades B+ or higher or B or higher for courses designated as High School level or advanced track math)

Rohan Abernathy-Wee

Asha Alla

Harris Ciaccio

Christopher Cumberbatch

Elizabeth Decker

Annika Didelot

Sean Dougherty

Jessica Elliott

Jaden Fee

Jacob Hansen

Emad Haque

Mary Aisling McDowell

Sarah McVey

Dwira Nandini

Davis Priest

Nandini Reddy

Grace Sampson

Ava Satterfield

Peyton Seberg

Anna Senjem

Genevieve Strasser

Jack Westphal

Claire Westphal

Alexander Xiao


Honors (All grades B- or higher or C+ or higher for courses designated as High School level or advanced track math)

Benjamin Bergfeld

Michael Cumberbatch

Chirag Gowda

Jewell Hixon

Sofia Hunner Rojas                         

Angela Jones

Jozef Porubcin

Lauren Schroeder

Allison Swiger



Upper School (Grades 9-12) 


Headmaster’s List (GPA 3.85 - 4.00) 

Adam Dada

Clayton Douglas

Faith Douglas

Anastasia Eganova

Maram El-Geneidy

Shivani Ganesh

Tejasvi Kotte

Molly Lewis

Hayley Moran

Benjamin Nordick

Manasa Pagadala

Emilia Porubcin

Michal Porubcin

Alexander Skillin

Suhas Seshadri

Loring Telleen


Distinction (GPA 3.5 – 3.84) 

Spencer Brown

Hema Chimpidi

Christian Elliott

Ryan Howell

Thomas Rodgers

Nadezhda Sinutkina

Gwyneth Vollman

Pavel Yashurkin


Merit (GPA 3.00 – 3.49)

Jacob Engelke

Kenton Fee

Jesus Fuentes

Aditya Gohain

Jonathon Kokoruda

Brittany McDonald

Nathan McVey

Bhavana Purighalla

Joseph Rodgers

Nikhil Wagher


# # #

<< Start < Prev 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 Next > End >>

Page 16 of 414