Education & Schools
Jake Dopler of East Moline Makes Lewis University's Spring 2014 Dean's List PDF Print E-mail
News Releases - Education & Schools
Written by Kathrynne Skonicki   
Friday, 06 June 2014 14:55

ROMEOVILLE, IL (06/06/2014)(readMedia)-- Jake Dopler of East Moline was among those honored on the Lewis University Dean's List for spring semester 2014. Dopler was studying Finance at Lewis University.

To be eligible for this honor, students must have completed a minimum of 12 semester hours of credit with a grade point average of 3.5 out of a possible 4.0 and with no "D" or "F" grades.

Lewis University is a Catholic university in the Lasallian tradition offering distinctive undergraduate and graduate programs to more than 6,600 traditional and adult students. Lewis offers multiple campus locations, online degree programs, and a variety of formats that provide accessibility and convenience to a growing student population. Sponsored by the De La Salle Christian Brothers, Lewis prepares intellectually engaged, ethically grounded, globally connected, and socially responsible graduates. The seventh largest private not-for-profit university in Illinois, Lewis has been nationally recognized by The Princeton Review and U.S. News & World Report. Visit for further information.

Governor Quinn Recognizes Illinois’ Scripps National Spelling Bee Finalists PDF Print E-mail
News Releases - Education & Schools
Written by Dave Blanchette   
Friday, 06 June 2014 14:27

Congratulates Recent Finalists Alia Abiad and Pranav Sivakumar

CHICAGO – Governor Pat Quinn today congratulated Illinois’ recent finalists in the Scripps National Spelling Bee for their achievements as representatives of the state. Alia Abiad, an eighth grader at McClure Junior High School in Western Springs, recently returned from the prestigious event in Washington, D.C. where she placed fifth. Also recognized was Pranav Sivakumar, who placed second in last year’s Bee. The Governor congratulated Abiad and Sivakumar today at an event in Chicago.

“Alia and Pranav traveled to the National Spelling Bee as representatives of our state and we can truly say that they’ve made Illinois proud,” Governor Quinn said. “These young students showed how important hard work and a good education are for achieving success. I applaud them both and all of the other talented students from across our nation for their efforts in our nation’s spelling bee.”

Through preliminaries and semifinals Abiad correctly spelled fête, sultana, concinnate, misère, quebrada, collyrium, buñuel and brindisi. She advanced to the final twelve from an original 281 from across the nation and several foreign countries.

Abiad enjoys traveling, practicing the violin and also plays in the Chicago Youth Symphony Orchestras. She previously competed in the 2013 Scripps National Spelling Bee, tying for 19th place. According to her spelling roster, she cites Pope Francis as an inspiration.

Also honored at today’s event was last year’s second place finisher, Pranav Sivakumar. Sivakumar, of Grayslake, Illinois, made a remarkable run in the 2013 Scripps National Spelling Bee which was his third consecutive appearance in the Bee. Among the words he spelled successfully were: transrhenane, masoola, semainier, faconne and avellaneous. Sivakumar cited his role model to be Astrophysicist Subrahmanyan Chandrasekhar.

Governor Quinn is committed to properly funding education in Illinois in order to give every child the opportunity for success. The Governor's 5-year budget blueprint includes a historic $6 billion increase in classroom spending over the next five years, doubling the investment in college scholarships for students in need and increasing access to higher education through dual enrollment and early college programs. Over the next five years, the Governor’s plan would bring classroom funding to the highest levels in Illinois history.


Theresa Tappa receives master's degree from Morningside College PDF Print E-mail
News Releases - Education & Schools
Written by Rick Wollman   
Friday, 06 June 2014 13:38

SIOUX CITY, IA (06/06/2014)(readMedia)-- Theresa Tappa from Bettendorf, Iowa, was one of 87 graduate students to receive a Master of Arts in Teaching degree from Morningside College in Sioux City, Iowa, at the end of the spring semester.

Morningside College offers the Master of Arts in Teaching degree, as well as graduate teaching endorsements. The Graduate Program in Education at Morningside supports education professionals as they continue to develop the knowledge, skills and dispositions that are characteristic of an effective educator. Morningside also offers several undergraduate degrees. For more information, visit the college's website at

Joseph Dickens Named to Dean's List at St. Olaf College PDF Print E-mail
News Releases - Education & Schools
Written by Marie Frederickson   
Friday, 06 June 2014 13:17

NORTHFIELD, MN (06/05/2014)(readMedia)-- Marci Sortor, Dean and Provost of St. Olaf College, has named Joseph Dickens from Bettendorf to the St. Olaf College Dean's list for the Spring 2014 semester. Dickens is a Mathematics major. He is a graduate of Bettendorf High School and the son of Dan Dickens and Jayne Rose.

The Dean's list recognizes students with a semester grade point average of 3.75 or higher on a 4-point scale. Dean Sortor stated, "These students have distinguished themselves among a talented and highly qualified student body. We celebrate their success in gaining recognition for academic excellence."

St. Olaf College

One of the nation's leading liberal arts colleges, St. Olaf offers a distinctive education grounded in academic rigor, residential learning, global engagement, and a vibrant Lutheran faith tradition. St. Olaf provides an uncommon educational experience that fully prepares students to make a meaningful difference in our changing world.

Local students named to Dean's List at Beloit College PDF Print E-mail
News Releases - Education & Schools
Written by Hilary Dickinson   
Friday, 06 June 2014 11:45

BELOIT, WI (06/05/2014)(readMedia)-- The following local students have been named to the spring 2014 Dean's List at Beloit College.

Olivia Covert-Proctor of Bettendorf, IA. Covert-Proctor is a First Year.

Devin Lundy of Davenport, IA. Lundy is a Senior.

Beloit College is a leading liberal arts college founded on the Wisconsin frontier in 1846. Hailed as one of the "Colleges That Change Lives," Beloit presents students with a Liberal Arts in Practice curriculum offering more than 50 majors and hundreds of internship, study abroad, and field experience opportunities. The college draws students from 48 states and 30 countries to its campus along the Rock River on the Illinois-Wisconsin stateline. For more visit

<< Start < Prev 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 Next > End >>

Page 18 of 358