Gov. Branstad issues disaster proclamation for six counties PDF Print E-mail
News Releases - Environment, Weather & Nature
Written by Office of the Governor of the State of Iowa   
Wednesday, 02 July 2014 08:52

DES MOINES – Today, Governor Terry E. Branstad issued a proclamation of disaster emergency for Black Hawk, Iowa, Jackson, Johnson, Louisa and Muscatine counties in response to flooding and severe weather beginning June 26. The governor’s proclamation allows State resources to be utilized to respond to and recover from the effects of these storms.

In addition, the proclamation activates the Iowa Individual Assistance Program for eight counties: Black Hawk, Iowa, Jackson, Johnson, and Muscatine; and Cedar, Jones and Linn counties, which were declared to be under a disaster emergency on Monday, June 30.

The Iowa Individual Assistance Program provides grants of up to $5,000 for households with incomes up to 200 percent of the federal poverty level, or a maximum annual income of $39,580, for a family of three. Grants are available for home or car repairs, replacement of clothing or food, and for the expense of temporary housing. Original receipts are required for those seeking reimbursement for actual expenses related to storm recovery. The grant application and instructions are available on the Iowa Department of Human Services website. Potential applicants have 45 days from the date of the proclamation to submit a claim.


blog comments powered by Disqus

Comments (0)Add Comment

Write comment
You must be logged in to post a comment. Please register if you do not have an account yet.