Gov. Branstad, Lt. Gov. Reynolds announce Governor’s Bullying Prevention Summit video contest winners Print
News Releases - General Info
Written by Office of the Governor of Iowa   
Thursday, 29 November 2012 09:36

(DES MOINES) – Governor Terry Branstad and Lieutenant Governor Kim Reynolds today announced the winners of the Governor’s Bullying Prevention Summit video contest.

The first place winner of the video contest was Hartley-Melvin-Sanborn Community School District of Hartley, Iowa with nearly 37,000 views and will receive a $500 prize and a visit from Governor Branstad and Lt. Governor Reynolds. Lisbon Community Schools, of Lisbon, was awarded second place with over 28,000 views and will receive a $350 cash prize. Central Lee Middle School, of Donnellson, took third place with over 25,000 views and will receive a $150 cash prize.

Originally, the contest was going to recognize only one winner, but the Change at the Anamosa State Penitentiary raised money to award second and third place.

“I think the Governor’s Bullying Prevention Summit was a wonderful learning experience and exchange on ideas and strategies of preventing bullying and the challenges we need to overcome. We need to have not just the schools but also the parents and the community actively involved also. The summit has exceeded my expectations,” said Gov. Branstad.

Department of Education Director, Jason Glass, made the formal announcement of the winners during today’s afternoon session of the Governor’s Bullying Prevention Summit. The winners were determined by the number of views received online.

“It’s really encouraging to know that the winning video had over 36,000 views. It’s very powerful to have this many students raising awareness and talking about the importance of preventing bullying. I look forward to visiting the Hartley-Melvin-Sanborn Community School District,” said Lt. Gov. Reynolds.

The videos can be found on the EduVision Bully Prevention Entries Channel here: starting Wed. Nov. 28. There were 23 videos submitted for the contest. Voting ran from Nov. 12 through Nov. 21.

blog comments powered by Disqus