Governor Branstad Issues Disaster Proclamation for Ten Counties Print
News Releases - Environment, Weather & Nature
Written by Office of the Governor of Iowa   
Monday, 15 April 2013 07:37

(DES MOINES)  – Gov. Terry E. Branstad today issued a proclamation of disaster emergency in response to severe weather that impacted ten counties in northwest Iowa.

Counties included in the proclamation are Clay, Dickinson, Emmet, Kossuth, Lyon, O’Brien, Osceola, Palo Alto, Plymouth and Sioux. Beginning April 9, damaging winds, heavy rains, thunderstorms and freezing rains caused damage to public and private property, power outages from downed power lines and poles, and a large amount of debris.

The Governor’s proclamation allows state resources to be utilized to respond to and recover from the effects of these storms, including for removal of debris and wreckage on publicly or privately owned land that may threaten public health and safety, or public and private property.

A copy of the proclamation of disaster emergency can be found at

blog comments powered by Disqus