Governor Branstad requests Presidential Disaster Declaration for 19 Iowa counties PDF Print E-mail
News Releases - Environment, Weather & Nature
Written by Tim Albrecht   
Friday, 24 May 2013 07:26

(DES MOINES) –Today, Gov. Terry E. Branstad signed a letter to be delivered to President Obama requesting a Presidential Disaster Declaration for 19 Iowa counties where significant damage was sustained from heavy rains, thunderstorms and flooding between April 17-30.

The Governor is making the request for federal Public Assistance Program funding for the counties of Appanoose, Cedar, Clinton, Davis, Decatur, Des Moines, Iowa, Johnson, Keokuk, Lee, Lucas, Marion, Monroe, Muscatine, Ringgold, Van Buren, Wapello, Warren and Wayne.

A joint federal, state and local preliminary damage assessment of the 19 counties found the severe weather caused an estimated $8.9 million of damage that could be eligible under the Public Assistance Program. Public Assistance funds may be used to rebuild damaged infrastructure that may include roads, bridges, culverts and other public facilities, or to cover costs of emergency work during and debris removal after storms.

The Governor’s letter to President Obama will be available at

# # #
blog comments powered by Disqus

Comments (0)Add Comment

Write comment
You must be logged in to post a comment. Please register if you do not have an account yet.