Suscribe to Weekly Updates
* indicates required

View previous campaigns.

Grassley Nominates Iowa Students to the U.S. Service Academies PDF Print E-mail
News Releases - Education & Schools
Written by Grassley Press   
Wednesday, 18 December 2013 15:03
Wednesday, December 18, 2013

WASHINGTON – Senator Chuck Grassley has nominated 55 outstanding Iowa students for consideration for appointments to the U.S. service academies.

“Young Iowans who want to enter the academies and serve our country are remarkable for their accomplishments and leadership.  These candidates are an impressive reflection on our state and signal continued excellence in the U.S. armed forces,” Grassley said.

Each year Grassley has the opportunity as a U.S. senator to nominate either current or future Iowa high school graduates for a select few service academy placements.  The Air Force, Military, and Naval academies all select at least one qualified student from Grassley’s nominations.  The Merchant Marine Academy makes selections in proportion to states’ representation in Congress.

Grassley said he encourages Iowa students to consider applying to more than one service academy due to the highly competitive nature of admissions.  “The academies offer some of the best options for higher education, and they offer an outstanding way to serve our country,” Grassley said. “It’s a tremendous opportunity for young Iowans.”

Students interested in academy appointments should begin the application process in the spring of their junior year of high school.  The academies select students based on the number of vacancies available for the next school year.  Senator Tom Harkin and Iowa Representatives in the U.S. House of Representatives also make nominations.  Traditionally, the high quality of Iowa nominees results in several Iowa students being selected to attend each of the service academies.

Grassley said he will make announcements as appointments to the academies are offered to Iowans.

The lists below include the names, high schools and hometowns of Grassley’s nominees for the 2014-2015 school year.


U.S. Air Force Academy
Clayton Beck, Bondurant-Farrar High School, Bondurant

Maija Bennett, Burlington High School, Burlington

Tyler Bennink, Thomas Jefferson High School, Cedar Rapids

Dalton Doom, Waukee High School, Urbandale

Ryan Finn, Hudson High School, Hudson

Katie Gibson, Sioux Central High School, Sioux Rapids*

Tyler Runyon, Van Buren High School, Keosauqua

Tyler Stewart, Springville High School, Marion

Conner Tillo, West Burlington High School, West Burlington

Jack Walker, Wapello High School, Wapello


U.S. Military Academy at West Point
Anamaria Angel, Van Meter High School, Waukee

Walter DeDoncker, Pleasant Valley High School, Davenport

Hannah Fairfield, Iowa City West High School, Coralville

Harrison Farrell, Dowling Catholic High School, Des Moines

Connor Gillette, Theodore Roosevelt High School, Des Moines

Matthew Haijsman, Lewis Central High School, McClelland

Neil Harte, Iowa City High School, Iowa City

Seth Horsley, Carroll High School, Carroll

Noah Irons, Lake Mills High School, Lake Mills*

Emily Junker, Van Meter High School, West Des Moines*

Cameron Lawler, Southeast Polk, Mitchellville

Peter Meyers, Gladbrook Reinbeck High School, Reinbeck*

Jose Olivo, Griswold High School, Griswold

Ethan Pieper, Norwalk High School, Johnston

Drew Piersma, North High School, Sioux City

Phillip Ramirez, Vilseck High School, Germany

Devinder Sandhu, Valley High School, Clive

Roy Schindler, Davenport Central High School, Davenport

Thomas Wilgenbusch, Roland-Story High School, Story City

Christian Zvokel, Bondurant-Farrar High School, Bondurant


U.S. Naval Academy
Joshua Bailey, Heritage Christian Academy (Home School), Otley

Jacob Baur, Winterset Senior High School, Van Meter

Trevor Bounds, South Central Calhoun High School, Lytton

Jeffrey Bright, Home School, Ames

Maeve Broeg, Williamsburg High School, Parnell

Keaton Carter, Southeast Polk High School, Altoona

Erin Evans, Solon High School, Solon

Micaela Finney, Bettendorf High School, Bettendorf*

Shannon Gorman, George Washington High School, Springville

Benjamin Halley, Waukee High School, Clive

Kyle Hollenback, Pleasant Valley High School, Bettendorf

Nick Krone, Holy Trinity Catholic High School, Fort Madison

Jacob Matthies, OA-BCIG High School, Ida Grove

Henry Oberman, Waukee High School, Clive

Jacob Pence, Cedar Falls High School, Cedar Falls

Alex Reed, Davenport West High School, Blue Grass

Kennedy Salow, Center Point-Urbana High School, Walker

Luke Schmitz, Harlan High School, Harlan

Connor Schueler, Iowa City West High School, Coralville

Zachary Weston, George Washington High School, Cedar Rapids


U.S. Merchant Marine Academy

Jacob Cline, Grinnell-Newburg High School, Grinnell

Gustave Doll, St. Albert High School, Council Bluffs

John Gorman, Marion High School, Marion

Rhett Nowotny, HLV High School, Brooklyn

Nicholas Swartz, John F. Kennedy High School, Cedar Rapids


Students denoted with an asterisks(*) were also nominated for appointments to the U.S. Merchant Marine Academy in addition to the Air Force, Military or Naval Academies.


blog comments powered by Disqus

Comments (0)Add Comment

Write comment
You must be logged in to post a comment. Please register if you do not have an account yet.