Guys on Ice Opens at Riverside Theatre Jan. 20 PDF Print E-mail
News Releases - Stage & Theatre
Written by Sarah Burnett   
Tuesday, 10 January 2012 14:32

Iowa City, IA – Guys on Ice: An Ice Fishing Musical Comedy, about two ice fishing buddies, opens at Riverside Theatre January 20 and runs through February 19. 

In this manly musical, long-time pals Lloyd and Marvin spend their free time in a ramshackle ice fishing shanty outside of Sturgeon Bay, Wisconsin. As the guys anxiously await their opportunity to appear on a popular cable TV fishing show, they scramble to protect their beer from fellow angler, Ernie the Moocher.

They pass the time by fishing, swapping jokes, playing cards, talking about their romantic problems – and occasionally breaking into song and dance about snowmobile suits, beer, and fish.

 

With songs like “Ode to a Snowmobile Suit” and “Fish is de Miracle Food” Guys on Ice is sure to be a roaring good time that will charm your wool socks off. 

“This show has a cult following like you wouldn’t believe, and rightly so,” said John Watkins, who plays Lloyd. “It's a terrifically written show with fabulous music, a big heart, sidesplitting humor grounded in Ernie, Marvin and Lloyd's candid simplicity, and a halftime show where you can win prizes.”

 

Book and lyrics are by Fred Alley and music is by James Kaplan. The show is directed by Riverside Theatre Resident Artist and Production Manager Ron Clark, who previously appeared as Marvin in the 2007 and 2009 productions of Guys on Ice. 

Watkins and Randal Sandersfeld play Lloyd and Marvin respectively. Watkins appeared as Lloyd in the 2009 production of Guys on Ice. This is Sandersfeld’s first appearance on the Riverside stage. Ryan Westwood rounds out the cast as the dreaded Ernie the Moocher. Westwood was last seen at Riverside Theatre in End Days.

Guys on Ice also features lighting design by Courtney Schmitz Watson, choreography by Patrick DuLaney and accompaniment by Ruth Baldwin. The show is sponsored by ACT. Ernie the Moocher’s popular “Half-Time Show,” an audience quiz game, features prizes provided by Fin and Feather.

“I think the reason a lot of people don't know about Guys on Ice is that those who do are trying to keep it all for themselves,” Watkins said.

Tickets for Guys on Ice, January 20 – February 19, are $15-$29 with discounts available for those over 60, those under 30, and youth. $15 students rush tickets are available on a first come first served basis 20 minutes before curtain. Tickets are available by phone at (319) 338-7672, online at www.riversidetheatre.org or in person at the Riverside Theatre Box Office, located at 213 N. Gilbert St., Iowa City, IA.

 

###

Performance calendar:

 

Friday, January 20 at 7:30 p.m.

Saturday, January 21 at 7:30 p.m.

Sunday, January 22 at 2:00 p.m. – Talkback Sunday following the performance

Thursday, January 26 at 7:30 p.m.

Friday, January 27 at 7:30 p.m.

Saturday, January 28 at 7:30 p.m.

Sunday, January 29 at 2:00 p.m.

Thursday, February 2 at 7:30 p.m.

Friday, February 3 at 7:30 p.m.

Saturday, February 4 at 7:30 p.m.

Sunday, February 5 at 2:00 p.m.

Thursday, February 9 at 7:30 p.m.

Friday, February 10 at 7:30 p.m.

Saturday, February 11 at 7:30 p.m.

Sunday, February 12 at 2:00 p.m.

Thursday, February 16 at 7:30 p.m.

Friday, February 17 at 7:30 p.m.

Saturday, February 18 at 7:30 p.m.

Sunday, February 19 at 2:00 p.m.

Talkback Sunday: January 22, 2012, stay after the Sunday performance on this date to chat with company members and gain behind-the-scenes info about the play.
blog comments powered by Disqus

Trackback(0)
Comments (0)Add Comment

Write comment
You must be logged in to post a comment. Please register if you do not have an account yet.

busy