Horseshoe Champions Battle in State Fair Horseshoe Contest Print
News Releases - Sports & Recreation
Written by Lori Chappell   
Tuesday, 14 August 2012 11:26

DES MOINES, IA (08/14/2012)(readMedia)-- Horseshoe champions vied for the winning title in the Iowa State Junior Championship, the Iowa State Women's Championship and the Open Singles divisions of the Horseshoe Pitching Tournament held Sunday at the 2012 Iowa State Fair.

The State Fair hosts both Championship and Open Class competitions every Fair day. Division winners are crowned daily. All Horseshoe Pitching competitions take place on the clay courts just east of Farm Bureau Pioneer Hall.

Complete results below:


1) Austin Witt, Washington

2) Derek Bloodgood, Creston

3) Hunter Clark, Windsor Heights

4) Kyle Hines, Prole

Class A

1) Dakota Havemann, Muscatine

2) Michael Witt, Washington

3) Kylie Clark, Windsor Heights


1) Cathy Carter, Council Bluffs

2) Kristy Klejch, Creston

3) Shirley Sprague, Berwick

4) Sheila Brody, Marion

5) Deb Davis, Ankeny

6) Sheryl Mason, Grinnell

Class A

1) Vickie Elliott, Muscatine

2) Leona Gaines, Cedar Rapids

3) Chris Jordan, Des Moines

4) Pam Slippy, Ankeny

5) Rhonda Dalton, Madrid

6) Kelly Turbett, Tama


Class A

1) Rod Langstraat, Hospers

2) LeRoy J. Law, West Des Moines

3) Meredith Kahrig, Woodsfield, Ohio

4) Tom Cranston, Keswick

5) BJ Benjamine, Tucson, Ariz.

Class B

1) Randy Johnson, Ogden

2) Rick Davis, Indianola

3) Terry Stiles, Maxwell

4) Chris Jordan, Des Moines

5) Jim Formaro, Des Moines


Class C

1) Jenn Blanchard, Altoona

2) John Ghrist, Des Moines

3) Kevin Klejch, Creston

4) Steve Fini, Des Moines

5) Lynn Gilmore, Des Moines

Class D

1) Amy Rothermund, Omaha, Neb.

2) Jason Rothermund, Omaha, Neb.

3) Melissa Vraspir, Omaha, Neb.

4) Dan Vraspir, Omaha, Neb.

5) Matt Vraspir, Louisville, Neb.

Class E

1) Mike Strait, Des Moines

2) Jeff Carstens, Des Moines

3) Zach Stiles, Maxwell

4) Scott Wicks, Pleasantville

5) Robert Stiles, Maxwell

Class F

1) Ben Wicks, Pleasantville

2) Mark Verwers, Cumming

3) Ethan Verwers, Cumming

4) Kirk Wicks, Pleasantville

5) Jacob Wicks, Pleasantville

"Nothing Compares" to the 2012 Iowa State Fair, August 9-19. The Fairgrounds are located at East 30th and East University Avenue, just 10 minutes east of downtown Des Moines, and are open 7 a.m. to 1 a.m. each day of the Fair. Exhibit hours may vary. For more information, call 800/545-FAIR or visit

* * *

blog comments powered by Disqus