News Releases - Education & Schools
Written by Heather Lilienthal   
Wednesday, 25 April 2012 12:15

Farm Bureau awards $180,000 to current and future college students

 WEST DES MOINES, IOWA – April 23, 2012 – Iowa students are preparing themselves to become the future leaders of agriculture and are interested in a variety of areas ranging from genetics to business to education to nursing. The Iowa Farm Bureau Federation (IFBF) has awarded $1,000 scholarships for tuition to 180 students who plan to study agriculture at their chosen colleges and universities.

In addition, Clayton Robison of Henry County was named the recipient of the Daniel Johnson Memorial Scholarship, a one-time $500 award for a student from one of eleven counties in southeast Iowa: Keokuk, Washington, Louisa, Muscatine, Wapello, Jefferson, Henry, Des Moines, Davis, Van Buren and Lee.  The scholarship is awarded in honor of the late Daniel Johnson, a former Iowa Farm Bureau director, farmer, volunteer firefighter and school board president.

“These scholarships help students pursue their dreams and so many of those career aspirations include agriculture or support jobs in rural communities. We’re honored to help these future leaders get a start in their academic pursuits and help them with their educational goals,” said IFBF Community Resources Director Barb Lykins.

First-time Farm Bureau scholarship recipients include 54 graduating high school seniors or students currently enrolled in their chosen college or university.  Students are eligible to renew the scholarships for up to four years by maintaining a minimum grade point average of 2.5 and by being a student in good standing with the college or university.

Six recipients were selected from each of the nine IFBF districts.  Scholarships were awarded to children of Farm Bureau members who plan to or currently attend an accredited college, university or community college to earn two or four-year degrees.

First-time applicants were asked to write an essay indicating the contributions they expect to make to agriculture and the rural community.  They also were selected based on their academic achievement, financial need, community and extracurricular involvement and letters of recommendation.

- 30 -

Editor’s Note: First-time scholarship winners (listed alphabetically by hometown), parent names and future or current college are listed below.


Ackley, Samantha Roelfs, Jim and Kandi Roelfs, Iowa State University

Alburnett, Dustin Lange, Timothy and Rhonda Lange, Iowa State University

Ashton, Michelle Fischer, Doug and Janelle Fischer, South Dakota State University

Audubon, Stacey Bruch, Brian and Nancy Bruch, Des Moines Area Community College

Chariton, Jennifer Fitzgerald, Tim and Darcy Fitzgerald, Iowa State University

Chariton, Tyler Folkerts, Todde and Michelle Folkerts, Central College

Clearfield, Matthew Kerns, Steven and Becky Kerns, Iowa State University

Clutier, Kelsey Upah, Duane and Gail Upah, Iowa State University

Columbus Junction, Delaney Howell, Dale and Dana Howell, Northwest Missouri State University

Corning, Haley Holbrook, Jerry and Tracy Holbrook, Iowa State University

Corwith, Katelyn Terhark, Bruce and Jackie Terhark, North Central University

Decorah, Kilah Hemesath, Keith and Linda Hemesath, Iowa State University

Delmar, Landon Rorah, Greg and Mary Lou Rorah, Kirkwood Community College

Donnellson, Derek Vandenberg, Brad and Sue Vandenberg, Kirkwood Community College

Dubuque, Michael Bahl, Martin and Linda Bahl, Iowa State University

Early, Isaac Jepsen, Lonny and Tracey Jepsen, Iowa State University

Eddyville, Nathaniel Harris, Terry and Lois Harris, Dordt College

Fairfield, Whitney Taglauer, Brian and Sherry Taglauer, Iowa State University

Galt, Adelai Swanson, Stuart and Lori Swanson, Iowa State University

Grafton, Marena Bartz, Merlin and Lisa Bartz, Iowa State University

Granville, Sterling Schnepf, Richard and Sharon Schnepf, Iowa State University

Greenfield, Rob Mensing, Bruce and Di Mensing, Iowa State University

Grimes, Lyndsey Niebuhr, Steven and Cynthia Niebuhr, Iowa State University

Griswold, Abigail Leighton, Scott and Angela Leighton, Iowa State University

Guttenberg, Kellie Walters, Barbara Wall and Marvin Walters, Iowa State University

Harlan, Nathan Ohms, Neil and Melanie Ohms, Iowa State University

Henderson, Samantha Keast, Russell and Diane Keast, Iowa State University

Hubbard, Becky Cook, Jeff and Val Cook, University of Northern Iowa

Jesup, Chelsea Bearbower, Don and Sue Bearbower, Upper Iowa University

Jewell, Calvin Carlson, Brad and Karleen Carlson, Iowa State University

Kellerton, Claire Andresen, Lyle and Stacey Andresen, South Dakota State University

Le Mars, Rebecca Clay, John and Kimberly Clay, Iowa State University

Madrid, Spencer Larson, Mike and Kathy Toms, Iowa State University

Manchester, Mikaela Boss, Todd and Donna Boss, Iowa State University

Mapleton, Kay Drenkhahn, Daniel and Julie Drenkhahn, Briar Cliff University

Montezuma, Kendra Doty, Daniel and Shawn Doty, Iowa State University

Moulton, Madison Probasco, John and Brenda Probasco, Iowa State University

New Sharon, Alexandra Ferguson, Brett and Carrie Ferguson, Iowa State University

Palmer, Amber Butcher, Joe and Beth Butcher, University of Northern Iowa

Plainfield, Kelsey Peters, David and Barb Peters, Wartburg College

Prole, Andria Harper, Amy and Craig Harper, Simpson College

Rockwell City, Tate Klocke, Doug and Paula Klocke, Iowa State University

Runnells, Sarah Stewart, Rob and Krista Stewart, Des Moines Area Community College

Sac City, Lauren Houska, Pete and Nancy Houska, Iowa State University

Sioux Center, Micah Rensink, Mark and Deb Rensink, South Dakota State University

Solon, Rebecca Haugland, Brett and Lisa Haugland, Kirkwood Community College

Spirit Lake, Keith Byers, Mark and Karen Byers, Drake University

St. Ansgar, Hailey Meitner, Leland and Barb Meitner, Iowa State University

State Center, Celene Slifka, Darrell and Cheryl Slifka, Iowa State University

Toledo, Tara Gray, Terry and Julie Gray, Kirkwood Community College

West Liberty, Avery Meyers, Mike and Pam Meyers, Iowa State University

What Cheer, Adam Striegel, Mike and Suzette Striegel, Iowa State University

Winfield, Clayton Robison, Chris and Sharon Robison, Iowa State University

Worthington, Jenna Lansing, David and Rebecca Lansing, Coe College

blog comments powered by Disqus