Iowa State Education Association members receive National Board Certification Print
News Releases - Education & Schools
Written by Jean Hessburg   
Friday, 20 December 2013 08:27

Highest recognition a teacher can receive in the profession

DES MOINES, IA (12/19/2013)(readMedia)-- Seventeen Iowa State Education Association (ISEA) members received 2013 National Board Certification, the highest recognition a teacher can receive in the profession. The total number of Iowans who have received the NBCT ranking stands at 683.

National Board Certification is a rigorous, performance-based, peer review process created for teachers, by teachers. The more than 106,000 NBCTs nationwide represent just over 3 percent of all U.S. teachers, but they have a positive impact in the classroom. National Board Certification (NBC) allows teachers to be recognized for their highly accomplished teaching practices and is earned through demonstrating teaching expertise using a voluntary process established by the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards (NBPTS). The process typically takes one to three years to complete. While state licensing systems set basic requirements to teach in each state, NBCTs have successfully demonstrated advanced teaching knowledge, skills, and practices.

"I know that National Board Certification is a tough program which is why we're especially proud of our members who put forth the effort to improve their skills and professional abilities," said ISEA President, and Nationally Board Certified educator, Tammy Wawro. Congratulations to the seventeen ISEA members for going the extra mile. Educators are lifelong learners who continue to improve their skills throughout their professional careers. Attaining NBC is a wonderful example for students, and our students are the biggest beneficiaries of the improved skills and practices. Our teachers do amazing things on a regular basis, and this is one measure of their exceptional abilities," added Wawro.

Iowa teachers who seek National Board Certification can take advantage of ISEA's candidate support program, including courses especially designed to help NBC candidates succeed.

"Education is a fast-paced and growing profession. It takes a lot of dedication and hard work, and we have the best of the best here in Iowa," Wawro added.

Bettendorf: Kimberly Rojas, Bettendorf High School

Cedar Rapids: Roxann Dittmer, Linn County Child Development Center; Abbie Petsche, Grant Wood Elementary;Jessica Mooberry, Erskine Elementary; Cassidy Reinken, Roosevelt Middle School; Jillian Schulte, Grant Wood Elementary; Nicole Shaw, Viola Gibson Elementary

Council Bluffs: Sarah Langille, Titan Hills Intermediate School

Davenport: Carissa Johnson, Central High School

Eldridge: Rebecca Seals, North Scott Senior High School

Fairfield: Michelle Higgins, Fairfield High School

Sioux City: Nicole Umlund, Leeds Elementary

Union: Tom Laures, Union High School; Kerrie Michael, Union High School

Waterloo: Jill Jacobs, East High School; Matthew Tracy, East High School; Krista Platte, East High School


blog comments powered by Disqus