Iowans of the Day Selected for Iowa State Fair PDF Print E-mail
News Releases - Travel & Tourism
Written by Jenna Mushro   
Tuesday, 31 July 2012 12:12

DES MOINES, IA (07/30/2012)(readMedia)-- The Iowa State Fair Blue Ribbon Foundation and Cookies Food Products are pleased to announce the recipients of the Iowan of the Day award for the 2012 Iowa State Fair.

Each Iowan of the Day receives VIP treatment on their respective day! Starting with recognition on the Anne & Bill Riley Stage at 2:30; use of the Iowan of the Day golf cart; gate admission and grandstand tickets; VIP parking; $200 cash; and accommodations at the Downtown Des Moines Marriott.

The Blue Ribbon Foundation began the Iowan of the Day award in 1997 to honor those Iowans who have truly made a difference in their communities. This year, the judges reviewed hundreds of nominations selecting those that show examples of integrity, Iowa pride, hard work and dedication.

"We are pleased to recognize these outstanding individuals as Iowans of the Day," said John Putney, Executive Director of the Blue Ribbon Foundation. "Their volunteerism, dedication and service to their community and the state of Iowa makes each one deserving of this honor."

The 2012 Iowan of the Day recipients are:

Esther Bielema of Wall Lake

Jeralyn Westercamp of Cedar Rapids

Troyce Vich of Waterloo

Janet Reynolds of Sioux City

Lila Bubke of Schleswig

Mary Maybee of Boone

Jim Gronbach of Dakota City

Ken Petersen of Council Bluffs

Garland Fickess of Bedford

Suzie Glazer Burt of Des Moines

The Blue Ribbon Foundation is a non-profit 501(c)3 organization. Since 1993, the Foundation has generated more than $85 million for renovations and improvements to the Iowa State Fairgrounds.


blog comments powered by Disqus

Comments (0)Add Comment

Write comment
You must be logged in to post a comment. Please register if you do not have an account yet.