Joint Information Center Flood Update Print
News Releases - Environment, Weather & Nature
Written by Office of the Governor of Iowa   
Monday, 03 June 2013 09:07

Branstad declares six new counties disaster areas


(DES MOINES) – The office of Gov. Terry  E. Branstad and Lt. Gov. Kim Reynolds, along with the Iowa Homeland Security and Emergency Management Division (HSEMD) and other state and federal agencies, are working closely with local emergency management agencies to assist communities in preparing for and responding to flooding.

The State Emergency Operations Center (SEOC) in Johnston has been activated to enable agencies to coordinate response activities. A Joint Information Center has been established at the SEOC.


Governor Branstad issues disaster proclamation for six counties

Today, Governor Branstad issued a proclamation of disaster emergency for six additional counties in response to the recent storms and flooding.

The Governor declared a disaster in: Buchanan, Clay, Clayton, Greene, Henry and Story counties. In addition, the Governor activated the Iowa Individual Assistance Program for Buchanan, Clay, Henry and Story counties.

The Iowa Individual Assistance Program provides grants up to $5,000 for households with incomes up to 200 percent of the federal poverty level, or a maximum annual income of $39,060, for a family of three.

Grants are available for home or car repairs, replacement of clothing or food, and for the expense of temporary housing. Original receipts are required for those seeking reimbursement for actual expenses related to storm recovery. The grant application and instructions are available at the “Disaster Assistance” link on the Iowa Department of Human Services website:  Applications must be received within 45 days of the date of proclamation.

Counties that had previously received Governor’s proclamations are listed below.


State Response Summary

Governor’s Office

o   Disaster Emergency Proclamations

  • Benton
  • Black Hawk*
  • Buchanan*
  • Buena Vista*
  • Butler*
  • Cherokee*
  • Clay*
  • Clayton
  • Delaware*
  • Floyd*
  • Greene
  • Grundy*
  • Henry*
  • Ida
  • Iowa*
  • Jasper*
  • Johnson*
  • Linn*
  • Louisa
  • Lyon
  • Mahaska
  • Marshall*
  • Mitchell*
  • Plymouth*
  • Poweshiek*
  • Sioux*
  • Story*
  • Tama*
  • Wapello*
  • Wright*
    * State Individual Assistance Program


o   The Office of Gov. Terry Branstad and Lt. Governor Kim Reynolds today launched in conjunction with HSEMD to give Iowans a resource for up-to-date Iowa flood information. This is the first Tumblr established and utilized by the Iowa governor’s office. Press releases regarding flood-affected counties will still be posted on the governor’s website ( and information regarding disaster readiness and assistance will still be available through HSEMD’s website ( The Iowa Flood Central page will act as an information aggregator of flood-related content from Iowa state agencies, news reports and eyewitness accounts from Iowans wishing to submit pictures and videos of local flooding.

Homeland Security and Emergency Management

o Deployed pump resources to Benton, Butler, Cherokee, Jasper, Louisa, Mahaska, Marshall and Butler counties. 

o Traffic barricades to Buena Vista, Cherokee and Tama.

o Sandbags and poly to Benton, Louisa and Mitchell.

o Bottled water was delivered to New Sharon in Mahaska County and Galva in Ida County. The Iowa Disaster Human Resource Council coordinated the delivery of water to Galva with the Convoy of Hope.

o Sioux City Urban Search and Rescue (USAR)/Swift Water Rescue team is being staged in the Waterloo area so they are able to quickly respond to any needs in eastern Iowa. The Cedar Rapids USAR/Swift Water Rescue team is also on standby for quick response if needed.

o   To view actions that are being taken by state agencies in impacted counties, visit the HSEMD website at


Iowa National Guard

o The Iowa National Guard has sent two liaison officers to the Johnson County EOC. 

o   Incident Awareness Assessment teams are being sent to affected river basins in southeast Iowa to increase situational awareness.


Department of Transportation

o   Numerous road closures on state and local highways and roads.  For more information on road closures, visit, or call 5-1-1 or 1-800-288-1047.

The Department is transporting flood-fighting resources to various locations in the state.

o   The Department is providing staging locations for resources.


Department of Human Services

o   The Department is administering the Iowa Individual Assistance Grant Program.

Department of Natural Resources

o   Information on private wells during times of flooding can be found at

o   The Department is actively monitoring water treatment and sewage treatment facilities.

o   Field staff is assisting in numerous counties.

Department of Public Health

o   The Department has established a website addressing health issues during flooding at

Department of Corrections

o   The Department has provided inmate sandbagging assistance out of the Iowa Medical Classification Center.

o   Inmates will provide debris removal assistance in the City of Kellogg.


Department of Public Safety

o   The State Fire Marshal is providing building inspectors in Cherokee.

For more information


blog comments powered by Disqus