Loebsack Calls on President to Approve Iowa’s Request for Disaster Assistance PDF Print E-mail
News Releases - Environment, Weather & Nature
Written by Joe Hand   
Friday, 24 May 2013 12:15

Leads Iowa House delegation response to April storm damage

Washington, D.C. – Congressman Dave Loebsack, along with the entire Iowa Congressional delegation, called on President Obama to approve Governor Terry Branstad’s request for a disaster declaration for 19 Iowa counties.  The declaration would assist counties that suffered significant damage caused by severe weather in late April.  If granted, the declaration would make these areas eligible for Public Assistance.

“I have toured and seen firsthand the damage that was caused by the severe storms and flooding that hit Iowa last month.  I call on the President to swiftly approve the Governor’s request so communities that were affected can begin the recovery process and get the help they need.”

Specifically, the counties of Appanoose, Cedar, Clinton, Davis, Decatur, Des Moines, Iowa, Johnson, Keokuk, Lee, Lucas, Marion, Monroe, Muscatine, Ringgold, Van Buren, Wapello, Warren and Wayne are included in this request.

A copy of the letter can be found here.

blog comments powered by Disqus

Comments (0)Add Comment

Write comment
You must be logged in to post a comment. Please register if you do not have an account yet.