Loebsack Welcomes Gov. Branstad’s Disaster Declaration Print
News Releases - Environment, Weather & Nature
Written by Joe Hand   
Tuesday, 23 April 2013 09:52

Total of 8 counties affected by strong storms and flooding now available for state assistance

Washington, D.C. – Congressman Dave Loebsack released the following statement today after Governor Branstad issued a disaster declaration for three additional counties in Eastern Iowa.  People who qualify in Iowa, Lee and Muscatine Counties are now able to apply for state grants to help with home or car repairs, replacement of clothing or food, and for the expense of temporary housing.  Last week, disaster declarations were made for Cedar, Johnson, Mahaska, Scott and Washington Counties.

“I am pleased with the Governor’s actions to make assistance available to folks in Eastern Iowa who have seen the brunt of the damage from the recent storms and flooding,” said Loebsack.  “Over the weekend, I toured some of the affected areas and saw firsthand the damage that occurred.  I will continue to fight to ensure those with significant property damage get the help they need.”

For more information, Iowans should visit www.dhs.iowa.gov and click on the Disaster Assistance link.


blog comments powered by Disqus