Suscribe to Weekly Updates
* indicates required

View previous campaigns.

Loebsack Welcomes Presidential Disaster Declaration PDF Print E-mail
News Releases - Environment, Weather & Nature
Written by Vonnie Hampel   
Monday, 03 June 2013 09:26

Declaration covers damage from April storms and flooding

Washington, D.C. – Congressman Dave Loebsack today welcomed the disaster declaration by the President for 19 Iowa counties.  Last week, Loebsack lead the Iowa delegation in urging President Obama to approve Governor Terry Branstad’s request for disaster assistance.  Now that the request has been approved, the counties are now eligible for Public Assistance.

“I am pleased the President took swift action to assist those affected by the severe storms and flooding that occurred this spring,” said Loebsack.  “As Iowans continue to brace for new possible flooding, it is important that our communities have the resources necessary to clean up, repair and replace damaged areas from the April storms and to take necessary steps to prevent further damage.  I will continue to work with Iowa families, businesses, and communities to ensure we recover from the earlier storms and that all necessary steps are taken to prepare for possible future flooding.”

Specifically, the counties of Appanoose, Cedar, Clinton, Davis, Decatur, Des Moines, Iowa, Johnson, Keokuk, Lee, Lucas, Marion, Monroe, Muscatine, Ringgold, Van Buren, Wapello, Warren and Wayne were included in this declaration.

blog comments powered by Disqus

Comments (0)Add Comment

Write comment
You must be logged in to post a comment. Please register if you do not have an account yet.