Loebsack Welcomes USDA Disaster Designation Print
News Releases - Environment, Weather & Nature
Written by USDA Communications   
Friday, 13 July 2012 12:13

Washington, D.C. – Congressman Dave Loebsack today applauded the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) for issuing an agriculture disaster declaration for 9 counties that have seen extensive damage to crops and farm land.  Last month, Loebsack urged Secretary Vilsack to support the designation.

“I applaud the USDA for their decision to assist the farmers and rural areas that were greatly affected by the early freeze this spring,” said Loebsack.  “As Iowans continue to struggle to recover, our rural areas and farmers need this assistance to help assure they are well-positioned to contribute to our economic recovery.”

Specifically, the counties of Audubon, Chickasaw, Clayton, Delaware, Greene, Harrison, Jackson, Johnson and Lee are included in this declaration.

Benefits are also available for the contiguous counties of Adair, Allamakee, Benton, Boone, Bremer, Buchanan, Butler, Calhoun, Carroll, Cass, Cedar, Clinton, Crawford, Dallas, Des Moines, Dubuque, Fayette, Floyd, Guthrie, Henry, Howard, Iowa, Jones, Linn, Louisa, Mitchell, Monona, Muscatine, Pottawattamie, Shelby, Van Buren, Washington, Webster and Winneshiek.

blog comments powered by Disqus