Media Release MH/DS Eastern Iowa Region Formation Print
News Releases - Civic News & Info
Written by Dee Bruemmer   
Friday, 14 September 2012 15:17

Five eastern Iowa counties will meet to approve a joint resolution to formally join a MH/DS region at a meeting on September 17th at 6:00 pm at the Performing Arts Center, Central High School, 519 East 11th Street, DeWitt, Iowa.  The Boards of Supervisors of Cedar, Clinton, Jackson, Muscatine and Scott have agreed to plan for a regional governance of Mental Health and Disability Services as required by State law passed at the last legislative session.

Representatives of the five boards along with their staffs have been working since April to develop and agree to guiding principles for the formation of the Eastern Iowa MH/DS Region.  Each individual county has passed a resolution to commit to plan for the governance.  On Monday the five boards will meet together to formally adopt the joint resolution of intent that must be filed with the State by April, 2013.  At the meeting an overview of the Mental Health Redesign Legislation will be presented along with the work to date of the Eastern Iowa Regional Committee.

State legislators, service providers and county advisory boards also have been invited to attend this joint meeting and be a part of the first step towards regional governance of mental health and disability services in the five counties.
blog comments powered by Disqus