State Commission to Stream Applicant Interviews for Court of Appeals Vacancy PDF Print E-mail
News Releases - Civic News & Info
Written by Iowa Judicial Branch   
Tuesday, 20 August 2013 11:38

Des Moines, (August 19, 2013) —The State Judicial Nominating Commission will hold public interviews of the 22 applicants for the Iowa Court of Appeals on August 21 and 22, 2013, beginning at 11:00 a.m. August 21 and 9:40 a.m. August 22. The interviews will be in the Iowa Supreme Court courtroom, 4th Floor, Iowa Judicial Branch Building, 1111 East Court Ave., Des Moines. The public is welcome to attend. The interviews will be streamed live over the Internet. A link to the stream will be on the Iowa Judicial Branch website home page ( ). The interviews will be limited to 20 minutes for each applicant. The schedule of interviews is below.


Wednesday, August 21, 2013

11:00 a.m.     Sharon Greer

11:20             Randy Lee Waagmeester

11:40             Douglas Robert Oelschlaeger


12:00 p.m.      Lunch


12:50             Molly McConville Weber

1:10                Michael Joseph Shubatt

1:30                Peter Christopher Hart

1:50                Frank  Cal Tenuta

2:10                Jennifer Lee Miller

2:30                Phillip John Tabor

2:50                Susan Kay Christensen


3:10                Break


3:30                Christopher Lee  McDonald

3:50                Alan H. Bjork

4:10                Emily Gould Chafa

4:30                Matt M. Dummermuth

4:50                Mark Dana Cleve


Thursday, August 22

9:40 a.m.       Jeanie Kunkle Vaudt

10:00             David Larry Leitner

10:20             Thomas Arthur  Mayes

10:40             George Scott Eichhorn


11:00             Break


11:20             Samuel Paul Langholz

11:40             Rebecca Saffin Parrish-Sams

12:00             Alan Roger Ostergren



Completed questionnaires and writing samples submitted by the applicants are available to the public and posted on the Iowa Judicial Branch website at


The Commission is responsible for screening applicants and sending a slate of nominees to the governor who makes the appointment to the court. The Commission plans to send a slate of three nominees to Governor Branstad. The court of appeals vacancy will occur when Chief Judge Larry J. Eisenhauer retires September 30, 2013.




# # #

blog comments powered by Disqus

Comments (0)Add Comment

Write comment
You must be logged in to post a comment. Please register if you do not have an account yet.