News Releases - Education & Schools
Written by Linda Martin   
Monday, 30 April 2012 10:10
Thirteen Moline elementary school students have been chosen to receive an award from
the Hazel F. Van Arsdale Memorial Scholarship Fund administered through The Moline

The 13 elementary students are: Megan Pittington, Hannah Evans, Anna Riggins,
Yolanda Vargas, Symone Willey, James Sheese, Brianna Turner, Autumn
Glass, Jassaniah Leeson, Isabel Raya, Nick O’Donnell, Josephine Trenary and Justyn

The fund was started in honor and memory of Hazel F. Van Arsdale to perpetuate the
importance of music in elementary and secondary education. The fund supports two
types of annual awards. One award is given to selected elementary students, and one
scholarship is given to a high school senior. The 13 elementary students were chosen
by an individual school committee made up of teachers and music professionals through
The Moline Foundation.

Hazel Van Arsdale was a public school teacher for 36 years. She was known for her
strict, but fun, manner of bringing music into the classroom. She made sure all of her
students knew every verse of all of our patriotic hymns, and wanted them to strengthen
their music interest beyond elementary school. A fund was established and is now
administered through The Moline Foundation’s scholarship program.

Founded in 1953, The Moline Foundation is a community-based, non-profit organization
which provides grants to health, human services, education, community development,
the arts, and other charitable organizations which benefit the citizens of the Quad City
region. The Moline Foundation receives and administers charitable gifts and has a
current endowment fund of approximately $17 million. For more information contact
Executive Director Joy Boruff at (309) 736-3800 or visit The Moline Foundation Web site

blog comments powered by Disqus