Twenty-Two Iowans Apply for Court of Appeals PDF Print E-mail
News Releases - General Info
Written by Steve Davis   
Wednesday, 14 August 2013 11:18

Des Moines, August 13, 2013 — Twenty-two Iowans have applied with the State Judicial Nominating Commission to fill the vacancy on the Iowa Court of Appeals that will occur when Chief Judge Larry J. Eisenhauer retires September 30, 2013.


The nominating commission will meet on August 21 and 22, 2013, in the Iowa Supreme Court Courtroom on the fourth floor of the Judicial Branch Building to interview the applicants. The public is invited to observe the interviews in the courtroom. Immediately following the interviews, the commission will begin deliberations to select a slate of three nominees from the group of applicants. Once the commission selects its slate of nominees, the commission will forward those names to the governor. The governor will then have thirty (30) days in which to appoint the new judge.


A summary resume, completed questionnaire and writing samples for each candidate will be posted on the Judicial Branch website at:


The commission welcomes written comments from the public about the qualifications of any of the applicants. Comments must be submitted to the State Court Administrator, who serves as the commission secretary, by August 20, 2013. Comments may be e-mailed to This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it . Comments may also be mailed to the State Court Administrator, Iowa Judicial Branch Building, 1111 E. Court Ave., Des Moines, Iowa 50319.


The 17-member commission is composed of a chair, who is the senior justice of the supreme court other than the chief justice, eight lawyer commissioners elected by lawyers licensed to practice law in Iowa and eight non-lawyer commissioners appointed by the governor and confirmed by the Iowa Senate. With the exception of the commission chair, membership on the commission is limited to one six-year term. Terms are staggered. The Iowa Constitution requires that commission members be chosen without regard to political affiliation.


The applicants for the court are:


Alan H. Bjork, Johnston, Age 64

Attorney, Bjork McDermott Law

J.D. 1976, Drake University


Emily Gould Chafa, Johnston, Age 53

Administrative Law Judge, Dept. of Inspections and Appeals

J.D., 1987, Loyola School of Law


Susan Kay Christensen, Harlan, Age 51

District Associate Judge (appointed 2007)—Fourth Judicial District

J.D., 1991, Creighton University


Mark Dana Cleve, Davenport, Age 58

District Judge (appointed 1998)—Seventh Judicial District

J.D., 1981, University of Iowa


Matt M. Dummermuth, Robins, Age 40

Attorney, Whitaker, Hagenow & Gustoff, LLP

J.D., 1999, Harvard Law School


George Scott Eichhorn, Stratford, Age 58

General Counsel, Rueter & Zenor, Co

J.D., 1980, Drake University


Sharon Greer, Marshalltown, Age 55

Attorney, Cartwright, Druker & Ryden

J.D., 1982, University of Iowa


Peter Christopher Hart, Emmetsburg, Age 60

Assistant County Attorney—Dickinson and Emmet Counties

J.D. 1979, DePaul University


Samuel Paul Langholz, Ankeny, Age 33

State Public Defender

J.D., 2008, University of Iowa


David Larry Leitner, Johnston, Age 57

Attorney, Leitner Law Office

J.D., 1979, University of Iowa


Thomas Arthur Mayes, Des Moines, Age 43

Attorney, Iowa Department of Education

J.D., 1996, University of Iowa


Christopher Lee McDonald, Des Moines, Age 38

District Judge (appointed 2012)—Fifth Judicial District

J.D., 2001, University of Iowa


Jennifer Lee Miller, Springville, Age 42

Attorney, Wachtel Missry LLP

J.D., 1995, Cornell Law School


Douglas Robert Oelschlaeger, Cedar Rapids, Age 56

Attorney, Shuttleworth & Ingersoll

J.D., 1981, University of Iowa


Alan Roger Ostergren, Letts, Age 41

County Attorney—Muscatine County

J.D., 1997, Drake University


Rebecca Saffin Parrish-Sams, Cumming, Age 42

Attorney—Soldat & Parrish-Sams, PLC

J.D., 1998, University of Iowa


Michael Joseph Shubatt, Dubuque, Age 48

District Judge (appointed 2008)—First Judicial District

J.D., 1990, University of Iowa


Phillip John Tabor, De Witt, Age 54

District Associate Judge (appointed 2008)—Seventh Judicial District

J.D., 1984, University of Wyoming


Frank Cal Tenuta, Sioux City, Age 54

Attorney, Iowa Legal Aid

J.D., 1985, University of Minnesota


Jeanie Kunkle Vaudt, West Des Moines, Age 59

Assistant Attorney General

J.D., 1991, Drake University


Randy Lee Waagmeester, Rock Rapids, Age 60

Attorney, Waagmeester Law Office

J.D., 1978, Drake University


Molly  McConville  Weber, Waukee, Age 39

Law Clerk, U.S. District Court

J.D., 2000, Georgetown University Law Center


# # #

blog comments powered by Disqus

Comments (0)Add Comment

Write comment
You must be logged in to post a comment. Please register if you do not have an account yet.