USDA Designates 27 Counties in Iowa as Primary Natural Disaster Areas, with Assistance Also to Surrounding States PDF Print E-mail
News Releases - Civic News & Info
Written by Tanya Brown   
Friday, 14 October 2011 10:21

WASHINGTON, Oct. 12, 2011—The U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) has designated 27 counties in Iowa as natural disaster areas due to losses caused by the combined effects of severe storms, excessive rain, flooding, flash flooding, hail, high winds, lightning, tornadoes, landslides, mudslides, excessive heat and drought that began April 1, 2011, and continues.


Those counties are:


Clarke               Jones     Mahaska           Montgomery        Van Buren

Davis                 Keokuk   Marshall            Page                    Wapello

Decatur             Lee        Mills             Polk                    Washington

Fremont            Linn        Monona             Tama                   Wayne

Henry                Louisa    Monroe             Taylor                 Woodbury

Jefferson            Lucas    


“Iowa producers can continue to count on USDA to provide emergency assistance during difficult times,” said Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack. “America’s farmers and rural communities are vitally important to our nation’s economy, producing the food, feed, fiber and fuel that continue to help us grow and out-compete the rest of the world. President Obama and I are committed to using the resources at our disposal to reduce the impact these disasters have had on Iowa producers and help to get those affected back on their feet.”


Farmers and ranchers in the following counties in Iowa also qualify for natural disaster assistance because their counties are contiguous:


Adams                Cedar                Dubuque   Jasper                Pottawattamie

Appanoose         Cherokee           Grundy      Johnson              Poweshiek

Benton                Clinton  Hardin                Madison             Ringgold

Black Hawk        Crawford           Harrison             Marion               Story

Boone                 Dallas                 Ida                     Muscatine          Union

Buchanan            Delaware   Iowa                  Plymouth Warren

Cass                   Des Moines        Jackson


Farmers and ranchers in the following counties in Illinois, Missouri, Nebraska and South Dakota also qualify for natural disaster assistance because their counties are contiguous:



Hancock                      Henderson                   Mercer                         Rock Island


Atchison                       Mercer                         Schuyler

Clark                          Nodaway                        Scotland

Harrison                       Putnam                         Worth


Burt                           Dakota                         Sarpy

Cass                           Otoe                           Thurston

South Dakota                        



All counties listed above were designated natural disaster areas Oct. 12, 2011, making all qualified farm operators in the designated areas eligible for low interest emergency (EM) loans from USDA’s Farm Service Agency (FSA), provided eligibility requirements are met. Farmers in eligible counties have eight months from the date of the declaration to apply for loans to help cover part of their actual losses. FSA will consider each loan application on its own merits, taking into account the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability. FSA has a variety of programs, in addition to the EM loan program, to help eligible farmers recover from adversity.


USDA also has made other programs available to assist farmers and ranchers, including the Supplemental Revenue Assistance Program (SURE), which was approved as part of the Food, Conservation, and Energy Act of 2008; the Emergency Conservation Program; Federal Crop Insurance; and the Noninsured Crop Disaster Assistance Program. Interested farmers may contact their local USDA Service Centers for further information on eligibility requirements and application procedures for these and other programs. Additional information is also available online at


FSA news releases are available on FSA’s website at via the “News and Events” link.



blog comments powered by Disqus

Comments (0)Add Comment

Write comment
You must be logged in to post a comment. Please register if you do not have an account yet.