News Releases - Agribusiness
Written by Zach Bader   
Monday, 06 December 2010 14:14

WEST DES MOINES, IOWA – Dec. 3, 2010 – Washington County farmers Joel and Laura Huber were presented Iowa Farm Bureau Federation’s (IFBF) 2010 Young Farmer Achievement Award on Dec. 2 at the organization’s annual meeting in Des Moines.

The annual contest honors young farmers who show outstanding management ability in their farming operations and involvement in Farm Bureau and community activities.  Receiving second place in the contest were Justin and Jennifer Dammann of Page County.  Third place recipients were Shane and Tammy DeBord of Cass County.

The Hubers raise hogs independently and grow corn and soybeans on their farm near Wellman.  The couple also operates a custom manure application business, and Laura is a teacher at the local school. Joel has served as secretary and membership chair of the Washington County Farm Bureau board, and this past year he served as the county’s vice president. Outside of Farm Bureau, the couple has dedicated time to the Iowa Pork Producers, Iowa State University Extension and their local church.

For their award, Joel and Laura receive a plaque, an AGCO tractor for 150 hours, a Case New Holland certificate for $2,000 (or a Farmall or Magnum tractor for one year or 150 hours). They will also receive expense-paid trips to the 2010 American Farm Bureau annual convention in Atlanta (to represent Iowa in the National Young Farmer Achievement competition), the Growmark annual meeting in Chicago and the IFBF Young Farmer conference.

Runners-up Justin and Jennifer Dammann raise cattle, corn, soybeans, alfalfa and rye on their Century Farm near Essex. Both have served Farm Bureau in various capacities at the local and state levels. Justin has held president, vice president, young farmer committee chair and policy development chair posts on the Page County board and has participated in the state resolution committee. Jennifer is a graduate of Farm Bureau’s Ag Leaders Institute, and both she and Justin have served on the statewide young farmer advisory committee.

Outside of Farm Bureau, the Dammanns volunteer for the county Cattlemen’s Association, the county Soybean Association, the county Extension Council, the county fair and the local study and service club. They receive a plaque, a $1,000 gift certificate from Grainger and a $500 gift certificate from Growmark.

Third place finishers Shane and Tammy DeBord raise cattle, corn and soybeans on their farm near Atlantic. Shane has played an active role in the county Farm Bureau, serving on the board and reaching out to local schools to promote agriculture. The couple is also active with the county and state Pork Producers Association, Cattlemen’s Association, Corn Growers Association and Soybean Association. Shane is a township trustee and a 4-H youth leader, and both Shane and Tammy serve as youth leaders at their local church. For their third place honor, the DeBords receive a plaque, a GPS unit from Farm Bureau Financial Services and $200 from Iowa Farm Bureau.


blog comments powered by Disqus

Comments (0)Add Comment

Write comment
You must be logged in to post a comment. Please register if you do not have an account yet.